home
We speak HVAC so you don't have to
CONNECT with us!

our tools and detailed reports
can help you choose the best
furnace, boiler, heat pump or
central air conditioner.

Consumer Reviews of GOODMAN central air conditioners

Popularity:
#41  of 60 brands of central air conditioners

27% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 751 reviews

  • Very Satisfied
    193
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    11
  • Neutral
    24
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    34
  • Very Unsatisfied
    489

Read more about GOODMAN central air conditioners

Read reviews of other Air Conditioner brands

Write a review

Reviews by Series

Current Series
Discontinued Series
Contractors: Are you looking for
Quality Leads? Learn more
<< Previous2425262728293031323334353637383940414243Next >>

Date created: 2011-04-18 Name: Craig
Location: Orange County, CA
Years owned: 12

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Choose your Contractor"
After reading most of the reviews on this site, It really appears that most of the bad reviews actually refer more to workmanship and installation quality rather than the product itself. Leaks are due to poor workmanship of the installer and a company that doesn't return your phone calls is not a reflection of Goodman quality. Airwest, inc. has been responsive and my equipment has performed properly.



Date created: 2011-04-12 Name: M. Martin
Years owned: 5

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Worst AC unit ever!!!!"
Bought new home with Goodman unit...had freon put in at 3rd year, new condenser at 4th year and coming up on 5th year,,,,,need new unit. You don't get a receipt when it comes with a new home. How do you get it repaired? Seems like we have over 200 complaints here. I'm thinking CLASS ACTION LAW SUIT!!


Date created: 2011-04-10 Name: just another angry owner
Location: Texas
Years owned: 5

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"All those who support goodman"
For all those of you who support this company, they are well known, we are finding out, for doing things as cheaply as possible. We were just told by our service man that our unit has to have the evaporator coil replaced, just like the majority of people who have the same unit. They used cheap Mexican crap, and homeowners have been responsible for replacing them. Just like car manufacturers, where is the recall and doing what is right? They might sell more than anyone else, but I will never EVER trust this company. Do not blame the installers. Blame the company who does not do what is right.


Date created: 2011-04-07 Name: A. Allen
Location: Greenville, SC
Years owned: 6

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"DEFECTIVE FROM THE START"
After putting in freon nearly every summer a tech pulled the coil and discovered a leak on the inside that could not be fixed. Bad part is their warranty ended a year ago on the unit and even though we have the documents proving it was faulty, they won't help. So now we are facing $1000 for labor and coil or a new unit for $2000. Not going with Goodman though. Researching other brands.


Date created: 2011-04-05 Name: Russell Snoddy
Location: New Orleans
Years owned: 10

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Katrina Goodman"
When we returned home after Katrina we found our Goodman laying in the backyard but still attached to the house. It was hot so I turned it on. Worked fine. 5 years later still works fine. When it does finally fail I'll replace with another Goodman !


Date created: 2011-03-27 Name: Stephanie
Location: Mississippi
Years owned: 4

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Very Unsatisfied- Bad odor from unit"
Several years ago, we had to replace our air conditioning unit. Our local dealer who is experienced, licensed, etc., recommended Goodman. Although we usually do research before big purchases, we did not since we have know the dealer for over 20 years and have been very satisfied with the business. WHAT A MISTAKE!! It worked fine the summer we had it installed. The next spring/summer when we went back to cooling from heating, there was a bad odor that came from the vents. When we called our dealer, he said something about the "dirty sock" smell that some have complained of. It was upsetting since apparently this problem is frequent enough that the dealer had a "name" for the smell. He had to come and clean the coils for the odor to go away. The next summer, the same scenario. Last year we were charged a cleaning/servicing fee of about $200. A few months ago, the unit didn't work and a part had to be replaced. The dealer didn't charge us for service that time, although he said the warranty only covers the part, not the labor. We have let him know how disappointed we are with this unit. The smell makes us sick. He says he no longer sells Goodman. Apparently we aren't his only disatisfied customers Last week, we had to turn on the cool air for the first time this year, and "dirty sock" odor again. We'll have to call tomorrow for another coil cleaning. If only we had done some research, we could have been spared this inconvenience.


Date created: 2011-03-23 Name: dd

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"DO NOT BUY GOODMAN"
WORSED EVER


Date created: 2011-03-14 Name: B. Bailey
Location: Pensacola, FL

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Failure to Satisfy Warranty"
After several months of continually replacing freon in a brand new ac unit, we contacted the company asking for a replacement. For over a month we got the run around and after four months still no satisfaction. BUYER BEWARE!! These are not folks who honor their word.


Date created: 2011-03-14 Name: Danny Trent Trent Heat & Cool
Location: Jamestown, IN.

Satisfaction Rating:

3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"Know your contractor"
Before buying ANY hvac equiptment do the homework and find the best dealer in your area.Price has noting to do with it. Talk to people in your area for the BEST dealer. As all dealers know the parts in hvac equiptment are all common to each other. No company makes there own parts they have the same compressor, fan motors, electrical parts, ect. made buy Copeland,GE,Honeywell,ect. The problems are most always installation. Even the coils, line sets, ect. are made by someone else. So when your looking for equiptment don`t look for Name Brand but look for the best dealer and buy what he sells. Service and knowlege of hvac are more important than brand.


Date created: 2011-02-24 Name: Eric
Location: Tampa Bay Area, Florida

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Aweful"
6 service calls in 4 years. Simply awful. Installed by Air West air conditioning -- company can't get it fixed and has become adversarial. Avoid Goodman and avoid Air West Air Conditioning.

<< Previous2425262728293031323334353637383940414243Next >>

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to FurnaceCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of FurnaceCompare.com.

Copyright 2002 - 2015 furnacecompare.com