home
We speak HVAC so you don't have to
Find Local Contractors

1. I need a new:

2. My zip code is:

Consumer Reviews of GOODMAN central air conditioners

Popularity:
#49  of 67 brands of central air conditioners

27% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 850 reviews

  • Very Satisfied
    216
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    14
  • Neutral
    25
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    39
  • Very Unsatisfied
    556

Read more about GOODMAN central air conditioners

Read reviews of other Air Conditioner brands

Write a review

Reviews by Series

Current Series
Discontinued Series
Contractors: Are you looking for
Quality Leads? Learn more
<< Previous1920212223242526272829303132333435363738Next >>

Date created: 2011-10-14 Name: M. Hunt
Location: Ocala Fl
Years owned: 3

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Goodman problems"
Had a brand new Goodman heat pump professionally installed 3 years ago (technician recommended) and it has proven to be very costly mistake. I'm so sorry I ever laid eyes on it. I'm on fixed income and now must start scraping money together to get a different unit or go broke trying to keep this one running.



Date created: 2011-10-13 Name: Julie
Years owned: 2

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"2 problems in 3 years"
One year after we had the unit, our zoning boards broke. Now, 2 years later, we have a major problem. There is a leaking valve from which the freon is leaking out. It costs about $1000 to fix with service charges and the cost of replacing the freon (crazy expensive). We live in a newer construction development. Our neighbors had the same exact problem one month ago. Their house was built exactly one month before ours (3 years ago). Coincidence? I think not. The system is a piece of shit (pardon my french!). We should not have had this much of a problem with a new a/c unit. I will never buy from Goodman again. I called their customer service department to complain. The lady I spoke to was less than sympathetic and of no help.


Date created: 2011-10-11 Name: R Cobb
Location: Atl Ga
Years owned: 6

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Good Value"
6 years old no problems, replaced both a/c & Heat & Coil, you have to replace complete system to get total satisfaction. Great Installer & Price (Banks Heat & ac).


Date created: 2011-09-28 Name: JSouders
Location: WinterPark, FL
Years owned: 3

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"The biggest piece of crap I've ever had the displeasure of owning"
We bought this Goodman unit to replace one that died in a 50 year old house. It was recommended by our service technician and we figured with a 10 year warranty on parts and a lifetime warranty on the product they stand behind their product, but that is not the case. Every summer we've had the same problem where the unit will just stop cooling. The technician comes out and diagnoses the same issue. The unit has sprung a leak (because of a faulty valve) and the freon needs to be replaced. Last summer we had to wait for over a month for the part to arrive. I have a special needs daughter who needs cool temperatures and no humidity. It was record temperatures over 100 and high humidity and we had to live with it for over a month. This year same thing. I don't even think we'll call the repair guy this time. We're just going to replace it. People on here have mentioned a class action lawsuit. Did someone file? If so, please contact me, otherwise, I'll be contacting an attorney in the morning. I've had it with this company and their piece of crap product.


Date created: 2011-09-26 Name: Pete R
Location: Ocala Forida
Years owned: 2

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Badman AC"
For Goodman GPH15, 18 months and 4 major service calls. Pretty much every major part has failed in less than 2 years.


Date created: 2011-09-20 Name: Dr. Randy M. McCown
Location: Piedmont, OK
Years owned: 1

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"I'm a skeptic"
Purchased Goodman CPG0902103BXXXBA 7.5 ton rooftop unit in July 2011. Paid over $10,000.00 for unit and installation. August 2011 one of the two compressors blew up. Literally had a hole in the side of the compressor. New compressor finally installed at the cost of $950.00. I have never heard of a hvac that did not carry at least a one year warranty on labor and five year warranty on compressors. We have twelve more rooftop units. I promise that we will never have another Goodman on our roof.


Date created: 2011-09-15 Name: T Turner
Location: Valdosta, GA
Years owned: 2

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Manufacturing defect coil expensive to replace"
The unit was installed in new house. Now 2 1/2 years later evaporator coil leaking and had to be replaced. The coil was rusted and deteriorated as if it were 15 years old. Even though it was "under warranty", I paid $20 s&h and over $400 to get new coil installed and unit cooling again. They claim the new coil is made better but that doesn't ease my pain.


Date created: 2011-09-12 Name: Larry
Location: Lithia, Florida

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"5 ton piece of junk"
Purchased this piece of junk in January 07. We have replaced just about every component including compressor entirely then fan, reversing valves twice. In the air handler the blower, coils, transducers what a piece of junk. Service calls every month and will now replace at my own expense since the company won't stand behind their product.


Date created: 2011-09-09 Name: 12
Location: ca
Years owned: 1

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Goodman is CRAP"
Their customer service sucks. They do not believe in it. Do not buy a goodman air conditioner.


Date created: 2011-09-07 Name: Cindy Flood
Location: Winter Park, FL
Years owned: 5

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Worst A/C Unit and Company that Installed horrible"
I purchased my Goodman a/c unit 5 years ago from American Air and Heat. Worst mistake ever. If you are looking right now do your research don't make my mistake. I thought I was spending money and getting piece of mind but my choice to use American Air and Heat and choosing a Goodman was not piece of mind I don't know if it is like most people are saying the installation of the product or the product. All I know I have had nothing but problems and spending money I don't have to replace parts that a 5 year old a/c unit should not be needing to be replaced. Since I've had it I have replaced a heat kit, a fuse (which was because of negligence on American Air and Heats part), pounds and pounds of refrigerant over the years which I have been told should not be happening and now the newest thing is a coil needs to be replaced because I am leaking refrigerant. Since I am fed up I will not be replacing the coil I will be saving my money to pull this piece of crap out of my house and replacing with a new unit and using a better company. And by the way I am still under warranty but not only have I still spend hundreds of dollars now American Air and Heat is telling me this coil will still cost almost $700 a complete and utter rip off if you ask me!!! Also, please do not ever use American Air and Heat not only can they not keep technicians they can't keep managers and they are late for appointments or when you are scheduled they don't put you in their computer. I have wasted money and days off of work because of this company so take my advice and go elsewhere. I thought they were a reputable company but boy was I wrong. So maybe the product isn't the problem it could be like other reviewers are saying the installers but I can't take the chance as far as my wallet says right now I have a lemon!!!! Can we have a lemon law for a/c units?!! My next step is definitely the Better Business Bureau.

<< Previous1920212223242526272829303132333435363738Next >>

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to FurnaceCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of FurnaceCompare.com.

Copyright 2002 - 2016 furnacecompare.com