home
We speak HVAC so you don't have to
Find Local Contractors

1. I need a new:

2. My zip code is:

Consumer Reviews of GIBSON central air conditioners

Popularity:
#52  of 67 brands of central air conditioners

25% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 68 reviews

  • Very Satisfied
    17
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    0
  • Neutral
    2
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    2
  • Very Unsatisfied
    47

Read more about GIBSON central air conditioners

Read reviews of other Air Conditioner brands

Write a review

Reviews by Series

Discontinued Series
Contractors: Are you looking for
Quality Leads? Learn more
<< Previous1234567Next >>

Date created: 2009-05-20 Name: C. Horton
Years owned: 3

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"3.5 ton Gibson AC unit"
Three years with this unit, and all three years we have had to have technicians diagnose why it doesn't cool properly. Some of the reasons have been: not enough coolant, too much coolant, blockage in coolant system; I.E. - no one really knows. We're replacing it with something that hopefully will not have recurring problems.



Date created: 2009-05-13 Name: Joe
Years owned: 12

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"The truth about Gibson"
I have been working in heating and air conditioning for over 15 years and I have installed multiple Gibson and name brand systems such as Carrier, Lennox etc. They all have the same internal parts and I end up having to go back on the name brand systems more than I ever do on the Gibson systems. It all depends on how the system was installed and if they were installed correctly or not.


Date created: 2009-05-09 Name: B. Ganucheau
Years owned: 5

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Hot in the house"
Was told by experienced ac man that this was the same as a well known name brand, but without the high cost of one. At first, worked fine, then @ 1 1/2 yrs later, compressor went out. Whole unit had to be rebuilt and charged a swap out type fee for compressor. @ 1 yr later, problems with condensor unit. Just replaced outside fan in condensor and now the compressor acting up. Had two hard start kits put on unit. Now I have more money in repairs then actual cost of unit.


Date created: 2009-05-07 Name: Tony Tabb
Years owned: 5

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Home Owner"
I purchased a 4 Ton Gibson Heat and Air unit 5 years ago. Its the worst a/c system ever. I tried to save a little by buying the Gibson. It breaks down every year at least once. I have had to replace the coil and blower already. It doesnt cool very well and runs constantly.


Date created: 2009-04-25 Name: GIBSON
Years owned: 4

Satisfaction Rating:

2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"Ms"
Gibson is the brand of hvac that came with my brand new home. Every Spring I have to get repairs to my unit. This unit is a terrible waste of my money. Yes, it is still under warranty, but I do have to pay for labor and pay for the contractor to do the diagnostics. I could have purchased a new hvac system for the amount of money I have thrown into this Gibson.


Date created: 2009-04-24 Name: GIBSON
Years owned: 2

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Proud of my Gibson"
I had a Gibson installed in 2007 after eight years of using York. Not to bash York, but I had more than 30 documented calls to the installer. After three years of their incompetence and inability to fix the system, I gave up. They insisted that heat pumps can only do what they can do. Worst experience possible. I love my Gibson and the installer seemed to do a very thorough job. Go Gibson!


Date created: 2008-09-11 Name: B. Kinser
Location: FL

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Gibson A/C Unit"
Bought 5 Ton 16 months ago, and the compressor died on us. The compressor replacement costs for labor is over $600 here in fl. The manufacturer for the compressor is Copeland, which I understand is a commonly installed compressor in other manufacturers. American Standard builds their own compressors. Stay away from Gibson, they suck!


Date created: 2008-09-10 Name: Daniel Petterson
Location: Charleston, SC
Years owned: 5

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Really bad service"
Total crap! Cools good when compressor(S) are working. We have had to replace at least two. If we replace the freon (twice every summer) we have cool air. But! We have been paying $400-600 a year just to keep cool. Refuse this product. Any salesman that tries to sell you a Gibson is not your friend.


Date created: 2008-09-04 Name: Kurt
Location: Encinitas, CA
Years owned: 2

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Nightmare"
Purchased a 4Ton 10seer Gibson unit two years ago. It died a week ago (bad compressor). The original installer is now out of business. The warranty on the compressor is 5 years... but... finding an installer to do the warranty swap is a nightmare. It will cost (est) $800+ labor to replace the compressor...plus I need to purchase the new compressor ($500) myself and file a claim to Nordyne to get reimbursed. Everyone I talk to now says to avoid this brand...I Agree!


Date created: 2008-09-04 Name: Dennis Kohajda
Location: Windsor, PA
Years owned: 3

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Indoor coil"
I'm not happy with my Gibson unit. I have only had this unit for 2 1/2 years and the indoor coil is already leaking. The best thing is that it has been 1 one month and the service contractor who installed the unit has not replaced it. As of Sep 1, 2008, he said it will most likely be 6 more days until they get the coil. They blame Gibson for not sending them the coil they say they are too busy making other coils for more up to date units. My unit is only 2 1/2 years old and it is considered out of date. The only good thing is the unit is still under warranty. Who knows it might not be by the time the coil is installed. How is that for the care of a warranty customer.

<< Previous1234567Next >>

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to FurnaceCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of FurnaceCompare.com.

Copyright 2002 - 2016 furnacecompare.com