home
We speak HVAC so you don't have to
CONNECT with us!

our tools and detailed reports
can help you choose the best
furnace, boiler, heat pump or
central air conditioner.

Consumer Reviews of Coleman central air conditioners

Popularity:
#24  of 67 brands of central air conditioners

40% of customers recommend
3 of 5 stars 57 reviews

  • Very Satisfied
    21
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    2
  • Neutral
    3
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    2
  • Very Unsatisfied
    29

Read more about Coleman central air conditioners

Read reviews of other Air Conditioner brands

Write a review

Reviews by Series

Current Series
Discontinued Series
Contractors: Are you looking for
Quality Leads? Learn more
<< Previous12345Next >>

Date created: 2011-03-12 Name: chad
Location: nederland

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Johnson controls"
Coleman is being sued for coil leaks



Date created: 2011-03-04 Name: Sue Smith
Location: ohio

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"VERY GOOD PRODUCT"
I've had this Coleman unit for 14 years and haven't had a bit of trouble. I've regularly maintained it.


Date created: 2011-02-02 Name: Katie
Location: port neches tx

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Johnson controls york coleman lux air"
Members of my church and community are experiencing coil failures and factory is saying my ac company is the only one around having this problem. My ac company 'Rutty and Morris' has been very concerned and helpful and even offered to replace entire system free. The factory: Johnson controls will not get my business again nor will i ever buy another coleman product again. I will however recommend to anyone that 'Rutty and Morris' stands behind what they sell..thank you Rutty and Morris!


Date created: 2011-01-11 Name: amy
Location: texas

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Coleman coil leaks"
3rd coleman coil and leaking water damaged ductwork with mold .. and needs freon again...u decide..very unhappy ..no support from factory: johnson controls


Date created: 2011-01-11 Name: c. smith
Location: s.e. texas

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Echelon coleman r410a and york reviews"
Coleman units have defective evaporator coils they also have poor condensate management problems. do not recommend this or york brands. factory denies problem but contractors in our area having serious problems with them. self destructing..


Date created: 2010-08-13 Name: coleman sucks
Location: arkansas

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Don't buy this junk"
Bought this 4 ton unit in 2001, only had a one year warranty and you would know 1 year and one month later it quit. repair man said just buy another one wasn't worth fixing.


Date created: 2010-06-02 Name: R. Frazier
Years owned: 15

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Coleman A/C performance"
I had Coleman units installed when I built a new house in 1996. One split gas furnace 2.0 ton A/C central unit (1125 Sq Ft) and one 1.5 ton heat pump unit (680 sq ft). I had deal with Coleman A/C unit before on two rental units I owned and I didn't think they were very good units. Both units were in service well over ten years before they needed any service. The heat pump had a circuit board problem ($200 part and $85 service fee to replace) and a run capacitor went bad ($10 self service replacement). Somewhere around year 12 or 13, the heat pump needed a freon charge each year and just last year and again last month I have had the freon charge for the A/C unit. So after close to 15 years, these units have served me pretty well. I am now looking to replace these units with another brand with a little higher eff ratings. But these have been very solid units for the price.


Date created: 2009-09-15 Name: M. Clare
Location: South Texas
Years owned: 13

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"Pretty good for me"
I had this 3 ton Coleman installed as a replacement. I've a serviceman out twice in 13 years, both times for minor problems. I'm sure it's not the more efficient unit going and when it's running, the outside condensor is pushing out that hot, south Texas air, but hey...it's cool inside.


Date created: 2009-06-04 Name: Walt Rowand
Years owned: 2

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Very NOISY and breaks down"
Every time this ac comes on I think there's a fire alarm sounding! It's got to be the loudest thing ever made! Besides that, it's broken down twice in 2 years and now I go to turn it on for the first time this year and guess what??? Nothing but warm air coming out of the vents! Buyer beware of Coleman. Unreliable, loud pos!


Date created: 2009-03-22 Name: COLEMAN
Years owned: 2

Satisfaction Rating:

3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"Warranty honored, BUT..."
Bought new home that builder put a Coleman-York 5 ton ac system into. Air handler blower motor crapped out the 2nd summer. Good news - the 5 yr. PARTS warranty was honored - good since the replacement motor cost appx. $500. Bad news was that it took just over a WEEK for it to arrive. Bad news - the LABOR to replace the motor was almost $200. Rated this as a neutral - just the facts as we saw them...your mileage will almost certainly vary.

<< Previous12345Next >>

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to FurnaceCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of FurnaceCompare.com.

Copyright 2002 - 2016 furnacecompare.com