Find Local Contractors

1. I need a new:

2. My zip code is:

Consumer Reviews of Armstrong Air central air conditioners

Popularity:
#22  of 68 brands of central air conditioners
42% of customers recommend
3 of 5 stars 76 reviews

  • Very Satisfied
    29
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    3
  • Neutral
    3
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    3
  • Very Unsatisfied
    38

Read more about Armstrong Air central air conditioners

Read reviews of other Air Conditioner brands

Write a review

Reviews by Series

Discontinued Series
1234567Next >>

Date created: 2018-06-29 Name: Robert Stephen Browning Browning
Location: Tucson, AZ

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"7 Weeks Old and Compressor Failure"
I had this package unit (AC/Heat) installed seven and a half weeks ago. Starting blowing hot air today. The installer was called and arrived within the hour, which I appreciate. Tech said compressor has overheated and he didn't know why. Whatever the reason, a new unit should not have this happen in late June in Arizona and it's inexcusable. He's been here 30 minutes now, hosed down the compressor but has no details. We'll see what he says, but I'm not feeling good about this Armstrong product right now.

Date created: 2018-05-24 Name: Dawn
Location: Montclair , NJ

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"4 TON VERY DISSATISFIED"
Does not cool my house. Got it 1 month ago, its a piece of junk.
Date created: 2018-05-14 Name: Mike W.
Location: Pottsville, PA

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Evaporator Coil Failed in Less than 3 Years"
Had a new Allied Armstrong Air cased evaporator coil installed back in 2015, turned on my a/c this year for the first time to only find out it is not blowing cold air. Technician checked my system and told me my evaporator coil is leaking, little to no refrigerant in system due to leaking coil. Also, confirmed leak myself, refrigerant oil in coil drain. Waste of money, cost to replace is as much as I paid to get it installed. Checked the class action suit and since it was not an original case coil being replaced, but a replacement, it is not included. Note that the manufacture date of the coil was in 2014, which the date it was installed back in 2015 and the manufacture date of the coil, were both within the dates of the class action suit. It appears Allied Armstrong Air continued to sell these defective coils without any concern on cost to the consumer.
Date created: 2018-05-04 Name: Wendell
Location: North Carolina

Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"20 years and still going"
Have owned this unit 20 years and feel that I am on borrowed time and was hoping to replace when needed with another Armstrong. Only one capacitor in each unit replace in 20 years! Glad to see they are still popular and good units.
Date created: 2018-04-28 Name: Daniel P
Location: Myrtle Beach

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Armstrong"
As a number of other professional installers of ac/heat units have stated, the equipment accounts for 20% of the quality of the end product, the other 80% has to do with the installer. Why because without proper knowledge the quality of a product drops drastically. Example there are many things to take into consideration with a system, that has nothing to do with the actual product, but are things that end up damaging the unit by faulty installation. Freeze ups of coils, this happens most often when a Unit is over sized for a particular cooling space, and usually happens most often in mobile, or modular homes. All AC units require a certain amount of airflow, here one should accept the basic principles that even the lowest ton ac should have at least 6 runs pulling, or 6 vents for air flow. Not enough will cause the coils in the Unit to freeze up. If this is the case an easy remedy (temporary) is to use a water hose and spray the coil until the ice melts, this works for awhile, but will most likely return the same problem in the near future during hot summer. Another remedy is to add additional runs (vents). Sometimes a trunk line can be the wrong size for the heating or cooling space and results in the same problem. Many have complained about compressors burning out, first thing a good installer will check for is a problem in the electrical circuits in the home itself. Another thing to consider is when the unit is charged with freon, it not only contains freon gas, but also mineral oil. During charging a good installer pays attention to the multiple gauges, there's a reason as to why those gauges exist, the first measures the amount of freon, the other the amount of mineral oil added to a system. The best way to add the proper amounts of freon/mineral oil ratio is to flip the freon tank upside down, this will add more mineral oil to the system, which is needed, and used for lubricating the compressor. Most compressor burnouts is from the lack of having a proper amount of mineral oil lubricating the compressor pump. A pump is much like any engine, it creates a lot of friction thus heat, the oil helps to lower the amount of heat, to sustain the longevity of the compressor pump. Other comments I've heard is about circuit boards burning out, while there are bad boards across the board, they are an anomaly over all, most can be explained by bad circuits, or even natural causes such as a bad ground wire in the home. Some of those bad grounds can be associated to their local utility, while others in outdated construction, or even time deterioration of wiring products in the home. One thing to consider is while a home wiring may be outdated, it may show less likely in lower voltage products, such as lights, etc, this is because very few items pull a higher current that a 110. The higher currents are exclusive to electrical appliances such as stoves, cloth's dryers, and yes AC/Heat units. Remember all 220's should be pulled separate and never shared. Products themselves often have different plug types, this is for a reason. Unlike 110 voltage products which share the incoming AC (alternating current of 110) thru that specific line in home, a 220 pulls directly from a separate line (heavier wiring) thus the incoming voltage from a breaker box will have a higher amp breaker. While I have barely touched on electricity, you can start to get an idea of how many things can go wrong with an appliance, especially with a high voltage product such as an AC/Heat unit. While all AC units have designs to help control the voltage in order to protect the end product, flux's happen in which the current is not stopped in time, this may be a result in faulty wiring, faulty breaker, faulty capacitor from the local power plant, such as a power surge, or even a surge from natural lightening. While fuses are designed to burn out on a unit in an attempt to prevent damage to a system, they can fail to burn out once reaching a specified expected voltage. remember all voltage eventually is measured by heat. If a fuse is manufactured incorrectly in can allow too much current to flow too quickly, often times this results in a capacitor burnout (which has a non metallic plate designed to open and close depending upon the temperature) it is a second guard against a fuse failure. The problem is with voltages far higher than the normal electric company, such as lightening, the shear amount of energy released has increased force, decreased resistance. Example a bolt of lightening can produce enough energy to power several hundred homes for an entire year. Imagine that amount of voltage entering your appliance, one can hardly blame a manufacturer with such possibilities. It's a chance thing, and to reduce such possibilities requires one to make sure they are properly grounded. I find it amusing some whom have commented about their Armstrong unit failing after 5-10 years is absurd, when most people even several making negative comments replace their motor vehicles usually 5 years or so. Yet complain about a unit that runs pretty much every day 365 days a year, either in heat, or AC mode. Imagine if they started their car up and ran it for 5 years with short breaks like they use their AC/HEAT unit, they may be surprised to discover their motor vehicle would probably break down in the first year, with a lot more expense, in parts and labor.
Date created: 2018-03-02 Name: Mike Roper
Location: Midlothian, TX

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Unsatisfied"
Unit came with new house. Worked well for 2 years, then coil and low pressure valve had to be replaced in the next 6 months.
Date created: 2017-11-06 Name: Kirk smith
Location: Columbia, SC

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Compressor problem"
Unit less than three years old and have replaced two capacitors and now compressor requires replacing. Sad to say seems like same issues as others here. Not happy with $945.00 bill to repair
Date created: 2017-08-02 Name: Tom W
Location: Indiana

Satisfaction Rating:
3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"Poor quality control"
One day after installation, the fan blade fell off. I don't need to say any more about how this will probably end up in the future.
Date created: 2017-07-17 Name: CP
Location: Wheaton, IL

Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Armstrong Furnace & AC - VERY SATISFIED!"
I purchased an Armstrong 97% 2 Stage, Modulating Gas, Variable Speed Blower Motor and 16 Seer Armstrong a/c Condensing Unit. My wife and I are amazed by the quality and consistency of the Armstrong product. We love our system and are very satisfied with the affordability and ease of maintaining comfort in our home. We also purchased that Armstrong Comfort Sync Thermostat and now have absolute control of our hvac system - using our smart phones. Great Product! I would buy this product again and have already recommended to friends and family!
Date created: 2017-05-30 Name: Sandra .J
Location: Mississauga, Ontario

Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"The Best Unit. Furnace and A/C Solid."
Hello everyone I am located in the Greater Toronto Area. Armstrong is new to the market but has been here for a long time. The units are very close to Lennox's unit. Built in the same parent companies, Great warranty. The local distributor has lots of parts, so repairs should not be a problem. I would not know as this unit works perfectly. I have had it for over 6 months and it turns on everytime. Cools evenly and its very quiet. If you have a louder unit get a blanket and boom, problem gone. I love how I can call my installer, distributor and Armstrong Air about anything. It's funny I saw so many bad reviews that are FALSE. Most owners are having a hissy fit because they have a 10 year old Armstrong air unit and have to repair it. Or because the installers are bad. That's not Armstrong's fault. Do your research and don't get online ruining a good company's reputation. It's very sad to see. Don't hesitate!! buy a unit now.
1234567Next >>

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to FurnaceCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of FurnaceCompare.com.

Copyright 2002 - 2018 furnacecompare.com