home
We speak HVAC so you don't have to
Find Local Contractors

1. I need a new:

2. My zip code is:

Consumer Reviews of AMANA central air conditioners

Popularity:
#34  of 67 brands of central air conditioners

35% of customers recommend
3 of 5 stars 186 reviews

  • Very Satisfied
    63
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    3
  • Neutral
    5
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    5
  • Very Unsatisfied
    110

Read more about AMANA central air conditioners

Read reviews of other Air Conditioner brands

Write a review

Reviews by Series

Current Series
Discontinued Series
Contractors: Are you looking for
Quality Leads? Learn more
<< Previous12345678910111213Next >>

Date created: 2010-06-17 Name: Fred Thompson (Amana Dealer)

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Read reviews with a grain of salt"
We have been installing Amana AC's and furnaces for over 5 years and have had very few problems with these systems. If they are installed by a qualified contractor, they will perform just as well if not better than any other brand. Installation is a critical factor when installing any HVAC system. A poor installation will result in poor performance and system failures regardless of the brand. As for the Amana warranty, we have never had any problems with Amana standing behind their product warranty. If you are being charged for repairs on products under warranty, then you are being ripped off by your contractor, not Amana. I suggest you find a reputable contractor that is not going to charge you and then also get reimbursed by Amana for the warranty work. Unfortunately, many of you homeowners simply hire the cheapest low bidder and your system is installed by some hack, therefore you have performance issues and get ripped off when you call them back because they, not Amana, do not honor the warranty. Remember, you get what you pay for! "Cheapest" price usually equals largest cost in the end. Pay for a quality installation, not a cheap one, and you'll get better performance and better service!



Date created: 2010-06-15 Name: A. Hannegan
Location: Memphis
Years owned: 1

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Awful!!!!"
This thing is horrible! I paid $7,000 for new unit last summer. It made tremendous banging sounds when it switched on and off and ran very loudly. They replaced the whole thing within the first month, and this unit does exactly the same thing. It now appears to have fully died, as it is doing nothing in the Memphis heat, not coming on at all. Lemon, Lemon, Lemon!


Date created: 2010-05-31 Name: C. Sparks
Years owned: 4

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Mrs"
I am very disappointed with our Amana heating and air conditioner. We have 2 units; 1 for the downstairs and 1 for the upstairs. We have had Amana 3.5 years now. We have had to replace the coils every year since our home was built. The bottom units always fails at the beginning of summer and the 2nd units usually goes about about a week later. When they are working, they cool all of the rooms except the master bedroom and bath. We are now considering getting rid of these 2 lemons.


Date created: 2010-05-31 Name: Toby Mayer
Years owned: 4

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Very satisfied"
We have had no problems whatsoever with our 4 year old Amana ac unit. It has worked very efficiently and we are completely satisfied with our purchase.


Date created: 2010-05-28 Name: E. Johnson
Years owned: 3

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Poor unit"
This is not a central air but I bought a 8000btu room air conditioner 3years ago at Boscov. Last year, the blower stopped working. This is poor quality and a waste of money.


Date created: 2010-05-17 Name: LW Miller
Years owned: 5

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"LEMON AMANA AC"
Amana rce prestige 14 air conditioner LEMON! LEMON! LEMON! LEMON! We have spent close to $1000 in service tickets on this piece of crap since being installed. My AC installer stated this unit has been a major problem and Amana/Maytag is not working with the installers. WARRANTY means nothing! We still have to pay for the service ticket on the labor to replace the warranty part. It has had 6 major components replaced. Today, we are replacing a part that was replaced less than two years ago. AMANA - you are FIRED - no more dishwashers, dryers, washers from this family of 5. Remember, the rules of 20 x 5 = 100 lost customers!


Date created: 2010-04-07 Name: BS Brunner

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Happy in Houston"
I bought a new Amana 11 seer 5 ton, single speed condenser and evaporator coil in 1991 for my 2900 sq ft home in Houston and for 17 years, never touched it. At 16 years, I had to put fan motor on the condenser ($200). Did annual service every 3 years. I personally have had a fantastic experience with my unit. After 19 years, it stopped running this week. Replacing with an completed Amana 16 SEER System. Lifetime warranty on all condenser parts and 10 warranty of labor for $3,000 less than 4 other companies.


Date created: 2009-12-02 Name: Leslie Nee
Years owned: 3

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Amana 16 SEER"
Two and a half years ago we had our Amana 16 seer heating and air conditioning installed by what we thought to be a reputable contractor. After it was installed we had some areas too hot and some areas too cold and some areas didn't have airflow at all and just didn't cool well when it was hot out. We had the contractor back several times and he kept saying everything was just fine. Finally after 2 summers of frustration we called out other contractors. Four contractors said it was the Amana units and we must change them to the brand they were pushing. Our 5th contractor was the only one that told us we had great high efficient equipment but it was installed all wrong. He convinced us by showing us the Amana instructions compared it to what we got and also found the big problems with the new flexible ducts that were choked by poor installation. It took 3-1/2 days of complete reinstallation of our Amana 16 seer heating and air conditioning along with new metal ducts. This Amana unit heats and cools better than we ever expected and now we have great air flow everywhere. Our electric bill dropped almost in half this summer. Incredible difference on just the installation. I expect our heating bill will do the same? And so quiet we can't even tell its running. We look back now and almost made a big mistake by buying new equipment the others were pushing and still would of had a bad installation. Even though we learned a hard lesson, a $4,500 lesson. (Thats what we paid to have the system properly reinstalled) We are now proud owners of a energy efficient Amana heating and air conditioning system. btw don't use the flexible ducts. Buy the metal ducts. They work the best.


Date created: 2009-11-24 Name: Frank J Johnson
Years owned: 8

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Amana Man"
After reading every one of these reviews, it is easy to see the ones that are pure lies. Most of these negative responses are written with info that simply is not true. the person speaking of Amana charging the contractor a trade in fee for compressor, false. the contractor is never charged for warranty parts, only the freight to get that part to them if not in stock. Most of these negative reviews are either from falsehoods, impersonators (other manufacturers) or people who used "Chuck in a Truck" instead of a reputable contractor. Your unit is only as good as the installer. Do your homework on your contractor b4 you agree to do business.


Date created: 2009-11-24 Name: Tom Skarvada
Years owned: 1

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Great unit"
This Amana condensing unit replaced the first of two Carrier units (several house zones). Talk about side by side comparison! The Amana unit is somewhat larger, but much quieter and much more efficient. The old Carrier used to blow fuse once is a while, the Amana does not, it just .... "chills!" Good job, Amana!

<< Previous12345678910111213Next >>

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to FurnaceCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of FurnaceCompare.com.

Copyright 2002 - 2017 furnacecompare.com