home
We speak HVAC so you don't have to
CONNECT with us!

our tools and detailed reports
can help you choose the best
furnace, boiler, heat pump or
central air conditioner.

Consumer Reviews of Whirlpool water heaters

Popularity:
#11  of 38 brands of water heaters

76% of customers recommend
4 of 5 stars 30 reviews

  • Very Satisfied
    17
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    6
  • Neutral
    2
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    4

Read more about Whirlpool water heaters

Read reviews of other Water Heater brands

Write a review

123Next >>

Date created: 2014-06-11 Name: Stan heavrin
Location: Ky

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Homeowner"
Will not stay lit. Found out that there was a recall. I was not informed of the issue. Why would a company hide this from homeowners?



Date created: 2014-05-19 Name: Kari Cargle
Location: Houston, TX

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Poor Quality"
I purchased a 50 gallon tall- gas 6th sense from Lowe's on Friday May 16th. Paid to have it installed in my attic, hooked it all up, turned on the gas and it was leaking gas very bad, we were lucky we did not blow the place up. I had to uninstall it, remove it from the attic return it to Lowe's and purchase a new water heater. This one works great so far. I have emailed Whirlpool and have asked them to compensate me on the installation costs that I had to pay twice. Yet to hear from them, but in respect to them I just sent the request earlier today. I hope this all works out and the lesson I learned from this experience is maybe hook up the gas line first as once you fill it and then hook it up. It is a real pain to drain and then return for replacement.


Date created: 2014-02-09 Name: Stephanie Lerner
Location: Elgin tX

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Whirlpool 40 Gallon Electric Water Heater"
I bought a whirlpool hot water heater from Lowe's in December and, just 2 months old- it has already broken, spilled water all over my house and ruined my floors. I called Whirlpool and they told us to remove the element and replace it-when we took the element out, it was completely corroded and burned through- definitely not a part that was only 2 months old. I believe this awful company put an old part in our new machine. After many hours and phone calls with Whirlpool to have it replaced (they wanted to just give us a new part and see if that fixed it. I told them no, absolutely not, was I willing to take the chance again that it would leak and ruin my second round of floors or worse). Finally, when I started complaining that it was a safety issue and Lowe's called them on my behalf with the same concern, they agreed to replace the entire hwh, So- to sum it up: brand new hwh and I had to spend a week of my time: cleaning up my flooded closet/room, taking cold showers, hassling on the phone with wp and Lowes, driving 1.5 hours rt to return the hwh, and reinstalling the new one. Whirlpool- never again!


Date created: 2013-12-03 Name: F. Newsome
Location: Memphis , TN

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Do Not Buy A Whirlpool Water Heater"
Bought a new Whirlpool water heater at Lowes. It worked for about 8 months and started having problems with going out. Whirlpool could not repair it and they agreed to replace it. Had to replace the gas valve two years later. Then, the thermocouple went out one month later. Then the pilot went out and would not relight. It was cheaper to replace the water heater due to the cost of all of the plumbing charges. I would not buy a Whirlpool water heater.


Date created: 2012-08-12 Location: Lexington, SC

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Whirlpool 50 gallon hot water heater review."
I had to buy a new hot water heater to replace the old hot water heater in my house. The old hot water heater had been in the house since we bought it, and that was nearly 20 years ago. We bought the new hot water heater in December of 2011. I did do a little online researching before I bought this one to make sure what kind of price I was looking at. I decided to go with the Whirlpool 50 gallon that had a 6 year warranty and it was less $350.00. My husband I brought it home and had in installed in less that one hour. I was happy to say within 2 hours I was able to take a bath! I have not had any problems with the new hot water heater. In fact it heats the water faster than my old unit. I would buy this unit for my rental homes.


Date created: 2012-08-01 Location: Brooklyn, NY

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"Whirlpool 28-Gallon Water Heater"
We have had the 28 gallon whirlpool heater in our apartment for about a year and a half now, and I've been pretty well satisfied with its quality! The small unit suits us just fine, since we only have one small bathroom and kitchen, however, the facilities are shared between four roommates, so quite a bit of hot water gets used here on a daily basis! Our heater has been up to the job; the water tends to stay hot long enough for a nice, long bath or shower. It will often take a little longer than I'd like for the water to get hot again after someone's just used the last of it, but for a consumer on a budget I can't complain. We've had no issues with the unit, and have never needed any sort of repairs or adjustments; I'd definitely recommend this model to someone whose situation is similar to ours!


Date created: 2012-06-07 Location: morehead ky

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"what i think about my water heater"
ive had my water heater 7 years and it works great .Heats the water fast.Theres nothing i dont like about it,very great water heater.Ive never had to do any work on it at all ever.i would sure buy the same brand whrilpool again when i need two,but im hoping this one will last for several more years,im very sure it will. I would strongly recommend that anyone looking to buy a water heater to buy a new whirlpool.


Date created: 2012-05-02 Location: Arlington, VA

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Good water heater for a decent price"
I purchased this water heater after having a bad experience with a cheaper brand which was also 40 gallons. The heater didn't out put hot water (it was barely warm), and took quite some time to warm up. I was immediately impressed that after the heater was installed by the store, the water heater was producing not warm but legitimate hot water within 45 minutes. I have run the dishwasher, a load of clothes and taken a shower at the same timeā€"I have not seen a decrease in the production or temperature. I ran out of hot water with my previous heater after two showers. This is a dramatic improvement. I have no complaints, so far. I don't find the heater to be using too much energy (my bills have actually decreased a bit). I have yet to "run out" of hot water. No repairs, so far. I would certainly recommend the purchase of this water heater. Good price for a durable and well run product. I will purchase from Whirlpool again in the future.


Date created: 2012-04-11 Location: Atrdmore, OK

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Review of my Water Heater"
I have owned my water heater for about 4 years. I love that I always have plenty of hot water when i need it, which is always with 3 people living here. I can't think of anything to dislike. No replacements, and the one time we had to repair was when one of the connections came loose but, it was a quick and easy fix. I would definitely buy another and recommend it to a friend!


Date created: 2012-04-11 Location: Washington DC

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"Satisfactory experience for a popular brand"
This water heater met my expectations. Besides the noise it makes, I am almost completely satisfied. It has a very attractive compact and sleek look. Many water heater manufacturers cannot accomplish this. I love the fact that it is a popular brand because it has a great warranty. I read many reviews on the gas heater before purchasing and for the most part, the consumers are satisfied with the product just as I am. My husband and I had no issues installing it. We filled it with water and it took from 3-5 minutes to power up. I have noticed nothing bad from the water (odors, exhaustion, etc.) This product is very efficient and I am waiting for my first electric bill to prove to others what a great product this is. The customer service team is very helpful for whirlpool and they know the true meaning of customer service. I have yet to have any issues with hot water and I would recommend this product to all of my friends.

123Next >>

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to FurnaceCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of FurnaceCompare.com.

Copyright 2002 - 2014 furnacecompare.com