home
Comparing over 45,000 air conditioners, boilers, furnaces and heat pumps
CONNECT with us!

our tools and detailed reports
can help you choose the best
furnace, boiler, heat pump or
central air conditioner.

Consumer Reviews of GOODMAN furnaces

Popularity:
#28  of 72 brands of furnaces

43% of customers recommend
3 of 5 stars 338 reviews

  • Very Satisfied
    137
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    11
  • Neutral
    16
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    18
  • Very Unsatisfied
    156

best product icon  What are the 10 Best Furnaces?

Read more about GOODMAN furnaces

Read reviews of other Furnace brands

Write a review

Reviews by Series

Current Series
Discontinued Series
  • GMH9 (10 reviews)
  • GMT (5 reviews)

<< Previous7891011121314151617181920212223242526Next >>

Date created: 2010-03-02 Name: D. Lane
Years owned: 2

Satisfaction Rating:

2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"Goodman Furnace"
Had problems with furnace not lighting. Renter has called me on several times and unit was just new less than 2 years old. Replaced the vacuum units but with no avail. Called out again tonight!



Date created: 2010-02-26 Name: C. Putnam
Location: North Carolina
Years owned: 1

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Goodman Heat Pump"
I bought a Goodman heat pump last winter. I live in North Carolina. It's a piece of crap. The outside unit freezes up like an igloo. The company that installed the unit will not stand behind the 5-year labor and 10-year parts warranty that came with it. Do not buy a Goodman!


Date created: 2010-02-22 Name: Anonymous

Satisfaction Rating:

3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"The largest manufacturer in the US"
Goodman manufactures heating and air conditioning equipment for residential and light commercial application. They also have been the industry leader in warranty for years. With the amount of equipment manufactured everyday, I'm sure they are not just putting junk out on the street. They have become the largest US HVAC manufacturer in the residential heating and cooling markets. A company that continues to grow and be profitable when the industry has been down over the last three years. Goodman could not afford to make sub-standard equipment. Here are the top five reasons you may have a problem with your furnace or air conditioning system. 1. New Construction - HVAC is almost an afterthought when building a home. Builders usually use the lowest cost option and put the money into other parts of the project. The installation crews are not considered to be the cream of the crop. They also have no choice but to hire at a lower rate keeping labor down. A lot of times these units may have been run during the construction phase and the units life expectancy can be greatly affected. 2. Retrofit/Replacement - Not all contractors are created equal. If you decide to hire a contractor based on them being the cheapest bid, then buyer beware. At a minimum, the installing contractor should be licensed and insured. I personally know guys that "have been doing this for over 20 years" that cut corners, fail to keep up with industry advancements and most times DON'T READ THE INSTALLATION INSTRUCTIONS! 3. Failure to maintain your system - All manufactures warranty are contingent to your system being properly maintained by a professional. If your installing contractor did not offer you a maintenance service agreement, then you should expect that other corners are being cut on the installation. Maintenance can also prevent property damage and health issues caused by heating and cooling the air in your home. 4. Proper installation and start up - Your home needs to measured and a Manual J load design should be performed to determine what size unit is right for your home. The unit should be installed to a minimum of local codes. A permit should be pulled and the unit inspected. Your contractor should verify, adjust and report inlet gas pressure, airflow and static pressure. Commonly overlooked on most installations. 5. Ducting issues - If you are not addressing the duct system in your home and only replacing your furnace, be aware that the new equipment will be moving more air and is more efficient. You most likely can get by with a smaller unit with multiple stages. Variable speed fans will sound like a jet engine on an inadequate duct system. If you are replacing a unit that is 20+ years old, there have been huge advancements in this equipment. Your load calculation will tell you how much air needs to be in each room. Typically, your original system was over sized to begin with so just changing the furnace for the same size might cause you to spend more on the equipment up front and more to operate it. The average duct loss is about 30%. If you do not have a tightly sealed duct system, you are susceptible to contaminants and high energy bills. Do your homework. More people will talk about a bad experience than those that are totally happy with their new system. It's easy for a contractor to take the heat off of him by blaming a manufacture. All brands of equipment are good. It comes down to the application of the products, period.


Date created: 2010-02-19 Name: B. Johanson
Years owned: 6

Satisfaction Rating:

3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"ITS THE INSTALLATION!"
All the negative reviews about all these brands are from people who picked poor installers- or don't know who installed their furnaces (they bought a house with the furnace existing). Anyone who knows anything about furnaces knows that it's the installation that matters! You can buy the best piece of equipment and if it's not installed correctly, you're going to have problems. You need to do your homework on the company you are choosing to install your new furnace. Get references and call them! If you call 5 of their past customers and they've all had no problems, then chances are you won't either. Be smart and don't listen to people bashing brands! They're just mad they didn't research their installer!


Date created: 2010-02-16 Name: Greg Ellis
Years owned: 5

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"goodman =hot garbage"
I bought a Goodman furnace about 5 1/2 yrs ago and it is garbage. I began having problems after about a year. Every year, something is going out on it. I have to keep a home warranty because I know the unit will mess up at any time. Don't waste your money on this junk. Get a name brand unit. It may cost more but in the long run, you will end up saving. This year, I'm getting that garbage out of my house. I wish I could dump it at their corporate office front door attached with a note.


Date created: 2010-02-16 Name: George Duricic
Years owned: 1

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"G Duricic"
Installed easily and has worked flawless since. Noticed a big difference in comfort in the home over my previous Sears 80% furnace. People who have had problems probably were installed incorrectly. The 3" recommended flue and fresh air need to be done right for proper performance.


Date created: 2010-02-15 Name: R. Vance

Satisfaction Rating:

3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"Thinking of getting a Goodman!"
Disclaimer: I am not nor ever have been affiliated with any company or product that sells, installs or services heating or air conditioning equipment! I have read a lot of these reviews and especially the two of the AC company owner and the long dissertation on page 1 of the guy looking for the reasons how you could mess up enough on the installs to create a lot of these repeat failures. I will attempt to explain how this can happen. 1. Concerning the 5 ignitors. They are like those 150Watt long tubular hologen bulbs. If your installer touches the flat plate and gets oil from his fingers on it, it will shorten the life of the ignitor. Standard hot plate ignitors should last between 3 and 5 years. Silicon nitrite ones should last about 15 years. 2. As for the circuit boards: there can be several reasons of pre-mature or multiple failures. If a single wall P-vent was installed instead of a double wall P-vent, this can cause the compartment where the board is located to get overheated and eventually fail. Another reason is lightning or a surge on the power lines by the Electric Co. (with all the electronics now being used in furnaces and AC units both a surge protector and a lightning arrestor should be used.) 3. Fan and heat exchanger failure! If the ducts are not sized properly so that the air flow across the heat exchanger is sufficient enough to keep it from getting hotter than its designed to withstand on a consistent basis causing the metal to be stressed and crack or split at the seems. The same duct sizing can also put an undue load on the circulating fan which causes the windings in the motor to run hot which in turn causes it to burn out. One reviewer even blamed the furnace for not sending heat to the upstairs rooms. That's absurd. The furnace has little to do with the air flow to upstairs. If no air is getting there, it's the duct designs fault. Some people think you can just swap out furnaces and never have a J load or static pressure test done to determine whether the new furnace will match up with the existing ducts size. If you watch DIY's Network show, HOLMES ON HOMES and see what some so-called contractors are doing to the unsuspecting public you would understand. Ever wonder why there are so many Heating and AC companies in the phone book? Buy a van, put some lettering on the side and get a few tools of the trade and you have a Heating and AC company. With the above being said there are "Lemons" in every product out there. Can anyone say "Toyota"? The old adage: "Buyer beware" applies. Do your home work and get the knowledge to understand what questions to ask your Heating companies installer or service person. If they don't know the answers, get someone that does! One reviewer said his "service guy" had been called so many times to fix their unit that he said he didn't know what the problem was. This guy should have been fired after the second call and the problem wasn't resolved. I could go on but you should get the idea by now. Thank you!


Date created: 2010-02-14 Name: Matt Beck
Years owned: 5

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"matt beck"
I installed a 92% variable furnace and have had a great experience with it. I have not had one problem.


Date created: 2010-02-10 Name: Michelle Price
Years owned: 10

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Goodman gas furnaces are DANGEROUS"
The Goodman/Amana brands of gas furnaces have a quality issue that has gone unreported and will likely lead to a recall or serious accident. The gas nozzle threads leak gas into the unit and has been a known defect for the last 6 months but has gone unresolved due to design and manufacturing short falls. Heavy inspection and testing has also had limited success assuring defective systems are out there. I would highly recommend another manufacturer.


Date created: 2010-02-08 Name: Teresa Loffer
Years owned: 10

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Not a single year without problems!"
Three years after installation in our brand new house, our Goodman furnace needed all of the innerds replaced. Even after that, the same problem... furnace kicks on, kicks off, kicks on, kicks off. Then it shuts off completely. We wake up so cold some mornings without heat all night. I would just as soon rip the entire system out and replace it, but unfortunately I can't afford to do that. So, we're using space heaters in our 10 year old home. I've had four different teams of HVAC and they can't figure out the problem.

<< Previous7891011121314151617181920212223242526Next >>

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to FurnaceCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of FurnaceCompare.com.

Copyright 2002 - 2014 furnacecompare.com