home
We speak HVAC so you don't have to
CONNECT with us!

our tools and detailed reports
can help you choose the best
furnace, boiler, heat pump or
central air conditioner.

Consumer Reviews of ARMSTRONG furnaces

Popularity:
#24  of 72 brands of furnaces

43% of customers recommend
3 of 5 stars 87 reviews

  • Very Satisfied
    36
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    2
  • Neutral
    5
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    5
  • Very Unsatisfied
    39

best product icon  What are the 10 Best Furnaces?

Read more about ARMSTRONG furnaces

Read reviews of other Furnace brands

Write a review

Reviews by Series

Current Series
Discontinued Series
<< Previous12345678Next >>

Date created: 2010-01-24 Name: Stephanie
Years owned: 5

Satisfaction Rating:

2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"Armstrong Air Ultra V G1N80BT"
This furnace has proven somewhat unreliable. In the five years I've owned it, I've had to have the control board and flame sensor replaced. Seems like a lot of parts to be replacing on a fairly new unit that I have inspected and maintained yearly. When it works, it's great, but I really don't like the phrase "when it works" in regards to my furnace. Don't purchase unless you are mechanically inclined or know someone who is.



Date created: 2010-01-21 Name: John Walso
Years owned: 3

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Mr. Boxer"
I have had an Armstrong furnace now for 3 years and it has been one of my best investments I have ever made. For the first 2 years, my wife always commented that it's so much more comfortable and I know I should get my furnace serviced but has given me no problems. The furnace had a 10 year parts and labor warranty which gives my family and I piece of mind. I have and would recommend Armstrong to anyone.


Date created: 2010-01-14 Name: Steve
Years owned: 2

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Steve"
This furnace is the biggest piece of junk ever made. What can I say about Armstrong Air? I'm a victim of American made. Unit has failed twice in two years. It either fails to start at all or works sporadically at best. I sure wish the Japanese companies made furnaces.... Toyota, Honda, etc. Until then, I guess we're stuck with domestic junk.


Date created: 2010-01-08 Name: Chris B.
Years owned: 9

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Poor quality - expensive repairs - don't buy"
We had this furnace installed 9 years ago (bought it because we were told it was manufactured by the Lennox people) and just got a bill for $700 in repairs because the furnace quit working. The gas valve (it's called a "smart valve" but my repair guy called it the "dumb valve") was defective, but there is no way to test it so the repairman didn't know if it was the problem initially. He tried some less expensive fixes first (new ignitor) but when that didn't work he concluded it must be the valve (the valve alone cost $300, not including labor). I expect a new furnace to work a lot longer than 9 years. We installed this one to replace a 40-year-old Lennox that was working fine, but wasn't very efficient. We thought it would save us money over time, but any savings we've had have probably been eaten up by the repair costs. Not happy at all - would never buy this crappy brand again.


Date created: 2009-12-19 Name: P. Doherty
Years owned: 12

Satisfaction Rating:

2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"not impressed with rooftop unit"
Rooftop/outdoor unit rusted away like Swiss cheese by year 8.


Date created: 2009-12-09 Name: C. Janczak
Years owned: 12

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"12 YEARS OLD AND OUT!!"
Imagine my surprise when my HVAC tech (who installed this system) informed me that my heat exchanger was rusting out. He showed me the areas in question and refused to service/clean the furnace for fear of creating a worse safety hazard than what exists now. The heat exchanger is covered under warranty but will be installed for $700.00! Through no fault of my own, I'm in the situation of forking over 700 bucks or consider a new furnace. Armstrong rep said no help with cost of labor. Nada. Nothing! Will my new furnace be an armstrong? Not!


Date created: 2009-12-07 Name: Charles White
Location: Montana
Years owned: 5

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Nice in cozy in Montana"
I had an Armstrong 91% Ultra V installed in my house after having an Armstrong run there for 20 years. I decided to replace my old furnace with a higher efficiency furnace due to gas prices rising. I have never been happier. My old furnace actually heats my garage now as there were no problems with it and the new Armstrong furnace has been more then I could have expected. I recommend Armstrong to anyone I know as it has been trouble-free since day one. Great Furnace! We see a lot of cold days in Montana and Armstrong has been keeping my family warm from the get go. A+ guys!


Date created: 2009-11-29 Name: Richard Fischer
Years owned: 9

Satisfaction Rating:

2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"Frustrated with Armstrong 95% Eff. Furnace"
The Variable speed dc motor system stopped working, and I am told that A.O. Smith, who made the blower unit no longer makes this part. So the failure of a motor controller will cost $900 just for the part. This is totally unacceptable.


Date created: 2009-10-07 Name: martinez
Years owned: 40

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Armstrong"
I've been in my house for 11 years, have never had any trouble with my furnace. It is original to the house (40 years old). Very good unit


Date created: 2009-09-17 Name: w. buffet
Years owned: 2

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"i'l buy another"
My home came with to high efficiency trane furnaces and air conditioners. they seemed to break every winter, over and over. they were expensive to operate and extremely noisey. two years ago I decided to upgrade my downstairs system after almost seven years of frustration. I checked out carrier, amana, lennox, and even trane. I was impressed with lennox and was about to buy that. my carrier dealer told me about the relationship between lennox and armstrong. they compaired almost exactly the same and they were almost $2000.00 less. now I couldn't be happier so i've come back to replace my other system with the same. my dealer has lowered his price even more because of the slow economy. this may be the best investment I ever made.

<< Previous12345678Next >>

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to FurnaceCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of FurnaceCompare.com.

Copyright 2002 - 2014 furnacecompare.com