home
We speak HVAC so you don't have to
CONNECT with us!

our tools and detailed reports
can help you choose the best
furnace, boiler, heat pump or
central air conditioner.

Consumer Reviews of Heat Transfer Products boilers

Popularity:
#21  of 43 brands of boilers

21% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 316 reviews

  • Very Satisfied
    58
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    10
  • Neutral
    93
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    9
  • Very Unsatisfied
    146

Read more about Heat Transfer Products boilers

Read reviews of other Boiler brands

Write a review

Reviews by Series

Current Series
<< Previous1234567891011121314151617181920Next >>

Date created: 2012-01-16 Name: Homer
Location: Nevada
Years owned: 7

Satisfaction Rating:

3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"Addendum for Shannon"
I don't know know what the size of the boiler that you have or the gas valve ( Honeywell of Dungs) on it. But if it is an 80m with a Honeywell gas valve, do this. On the rear of the Honeywell gas valve is a brass projection about the diameter of a pencil facing the rear of the boiler cabinet. On the 80m this brass vent almost touches the cabinet. If the hx shifts this vent can be blocked by the cabinet surface interfering with the functioning of the gas valve. If the brass vent is touching the cabinet back, drill a 3/8" hole in the cabinet plastic back so that the brass vent is not touching the cabinet and has free access to air. You need to put a pressure gauge on the input port of the gas valve and monitor the gauge while operating the boiler. The gauge should read 11" of water column with out the boiler running and should maintain that pressure when it is running. A decrease in pressure while the boiler is running would indicate a blockage in the gas supply. Your problem can be looked at this way: A gas supply problem--A temperature problem. As the temperature in the boiler cabinet increases, metals expand. Is your wiring harnesses making good contact? I am betting on the gas supply. Hope this helps.



Date created: 2012-01-16 Name: Homer
Location: Nevada
Years owned: 7

Satisfaction Rating:

3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"Once Again The Munchkin Gets The Blame!"
Shannon, Levering, Michigan---Well, it is a good thing that you mentioned propane. First, Read the posts about f09 codes in this forum. Shannon, Shannon, Shannon-This is your problem, I think. Does your boiler work fine in the summer and fail in the winter? Just when you need heat, Whammo, f09 or f10 messes up your day or nite. Your Propane Regulator at the tank or house has moisture in it and it is freezing up, limiting the amount of gas to the boiler. Warm the regulators and see if your problems disappear. I hope that you report back with a (very satisfied) check mark. read the posts, Folks.


Date created: 2012-01-04 Name: Homer
Location: Nevada
Years owned: 7

Satisfaction Rating:

3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"NC Fault Code"
Stephan Wilkinson--Cornwall-on-Hudson,NY nc Fault Code means this: Improper neutral (white wire) connection to the boiler. Make sure that the ground (green wire) hasn't any stray current (ground fault) on it. You should check the wiring on the boiler junction box and wall cord that plugs into the wall outlet for proper polarity. You can buy a cheap wall outlet tester at Home Depot and plug it in and it will tell you if the outlet box is wired correctly (polarity wise). On the cord, one side is ribbed and one side is smooth. The ribbed side is the white wire and the smooth side of the cord is the black wire. The green wire is ground. The ribbed side should be connected to the white wires in the boilers junction box and the smooth side should be connected to the black wires in the boiler junction box.


Date created: 2011-12-30 Name: Homer
Location: Nevada
Years owned: 7

Satisfaction Rating:

3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"Happy New Year--A rockin'-n-rollin'"
Jesse, barton, VT---Contenders are good boilers, an improvement on the Munchkin. So your boiler's a rockin'-n-rollin'. First, I believe that you have flashing in the hx (heat exchanger). Flashing occurs when the water pumped through the hx is too slow. (Gallons per minute). The water boils in the hx and vapors form and then collapse. It shakes the boiler. Not good! A 140m (140,000 btu) Munchkin should have 14 gpm pumping through the hx. 1gal for every 10,000 btu. To have such a high flow rate it is necessary to have a boiler loop and a heating loop (two pumps minimum) with the correct piping sized for flow. The pumps must be sized for system pressure loss (head) and flow, too. Pumps that are too small aren't going to get the job done. I have also seen this happen, but not as bad, when the gas valve is not correctly adjusted and also a blower problem. Second, Jesse, hire some one who knows what they're doing An F05 will shake the boiler (read earlier posts)and check the voltage at the pump (110V) when the boiler is running and acting up. Is the boiler pump turning? You need someone who's knowledgeable in Hydronics. It is a specialized field with a lot of training. So--do your guys qualify? Hope thing work out for you. Happy New Year, one and all!


Date created: 2011-12-29 Name: jesse
Location: barton, VT
Years owned: 2

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"contender"
Junk, Lemmon! Terrible machine. Falt codes all the time, almost shakes itself apart. So bad my heating company replaced it with a new one because they couldn't get the first one to run correctly. This second machine is just as bad. Shakes and falts out every week!


Date created: 2011-12-17 Name: Wayne Hoefler
Location: cripple creek colorado
Years owned: 9

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"High Altitude Conversion"
Stay tuned doing a high altitude conversion to my 199m after a flawless 9 years of operation at 10,000 Feet I purchased the boiler over the internet intended for sea level operation pre set at the factory and installing the unit myslef no experience other following the instruction intallation manuel for the install. never had it tuned or cleaned or tilited 3/8 of an inch backwards to help it drain. I recieved an f-09 code after my mom crushed the garden hose of two feet to the drain and the unit flooded leaked from the front burner gasket indication its drain system was clogged. Odered new controller 926 board and display to make more efficent and for the dual sensoring of flame and the better program design, a 9 pin ribbon cable to accomodate the Hot igniter and of course having the the board reprogamed before delivery. Then talking with tech support HTP switching the location of the flame detector and ingniter for HA op's order new target wall and burner wall refrac. Doing the cleaning myself and tilting the unit and having a tech tune the unit I will follow up this post in one week. 4700 squre feet house minus 10F most of the winter Natural gas bill only $180.00 during winter for a bed and breakfast and using it to heat a Bac 80 gallon indirect tank for DHW looking for the new bill in January Cripple Creek Colorado 80813


Date created: 2011-11-25 Name: Steven Whitbeck - BELTLINE HEATING
Location: Grand Rapids MI.

Satisfaction Rating:

3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"GOOD boiler if installed properly"
99% of your problems are totally related to the way your boiler was installed. I install high efficient boilers for a living and have many Munchkin boilers installed that need no more than yearly maintenance. If they are not properly installed you will have a nightmare of problems. I installed a T80 in my 1512 square foot barn three years ago and did NOT dial it in or do anything other than hook up the water, gas, vent piping and electrical. This boiler has run flawlessly for three winters. I just recently checked the flame sense and found that it was getting close to lock out (F09). I did a before and after combustion analysis. There was a light coating of (coffee grounds) covering most of the heat exchanger. I cleaned this out with a vacuum and then brass wire brushed the heat exchanger then used a feeler gauge between the tubes. I then water washed the heat exchanger and flushed the drains. I found the flame rod was too far from the burner and the gap of the igniters was at 3/16 instead of 1/4 inch. The difference of the before and after was only 1% loss of efficiency with the water inlet and outlet temperatures the same on both tests. The only difference was the exhaust temperature was 5* higher in the dirty test due to the dirty heat exchanger. These boilers if installed properly will not be a problem. So ALL of you that are complaining need to have someone competent reinstall your boiler.


Date created: 2011-10-28 Name: Kim
Location: Greenfield Center NY
Years owned: 6

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"high efficiency heather with 925 controller"
Run, don't walk, run from this boiler. It is nothing but a problem. Every year when I turn on the heat in the fall - I require at least 3 service calls. Error code F09, F00, should just say "your F'd"! Many part replacements. Not I am hearing a plate needs to be replaced - in addition to the second replacement today alone of the high limit switch. One year warranty on thousands of dollars to install and yearly at least $700 in repair/service costs. Does anyone know of a class action lawsuit against this manufacturer? Given the reviews - there should be one!


Date created: 2011-06-16 Name: L S
Location: MT.
Years owned: 8

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"CRAP"
I have had 4 Munchkins, 2 have been replace and two I would like to give back to the munchkins that made them.$$$$$$ of dollars later!


Date created: 2011-04-29 Name: D. Thueson
Years owned: 7

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Apartment Building owner."
Have had many maintance problems with this from the beginning. I have had many periodic error codes pop up on the display, mostly f09 and now f10. The maintance is expensive. Now the drip pan underneath the unit is plugged with grit and the installer says they are difficult to clean with certainty. The installer says he quit using Munchkin brand about 3 yrs ago because of these (and other) problems. He suggests considering buying a new boiler--not a Munchkin. I promise I will not buy another Munchkin. Buyer beware!!!

<< Previous1234567891011121314151617181920Next >>

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to FurnaceCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of FurnaceCompare.com.

Copyright 2002 - 2014 furnacecompare.com