home
We speak HVAC so you don't have to
CONNECT with us!

our tools and detailed reports
can help you choose the best
furnace, boiler, heat pump or
central air conditioner.

Consumer Reviews of DUNKIRK boilers

Popularity:
#32  of 44 brands of boilers

13% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 58 reviews

  • Very Satisfied
    7
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    1
  • Neutral
    1
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    4
  • Very Unsatisfied
    45

Read more about DUNKIRK boilers

Read reviews of other Boiler brands

Write a review

Reviews by Series

Current Series
<< Previous1234Next >>

Date created: 2010-10-17 Name: J. Cherry
Location: Denver, Co

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Oh Boy What a mistake"
We installed a 90% efficient boiler in 2005. We have had nothing but trouble since. The furnance has not worked one full year yet without problems. Right off the bat the pressure swithes needed to be reofitted by the manufacturer and placed higher in the boiler case. Replaced three igniters, two pressure switches. The boiler water sensor keeps clogging causing the boiler to shut down. We have had repeated survice calls, the company that installed our boiler strung us along and now refuses to replace this lemon. Furnace unit is incredibly noisy when it works...Never buy a Dunkirk Boiler, Very unhappy!



Date created: 2010-09-03 Name: Burt Adams

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Mechanical engineer"
We installed about 40 Dunkirk Aluminum hex boilers with about 30 hex failures. You get a new heater exchanger, have to send the failed on back on your nickel, a day of labor to install new heat exchanger with no labor reimbursement. What a nightmare and expensive! Buy stainless steel. Oh by the way, aluminum oxide plugs up air vents, flow meters, piping, pumps. Amazing they have been in business for 75 years and make a horrible excuse for a boiler.


Date created: 2010-08-30 Name: John Pombrio

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"Reliable when properly maintained AND installed."
All of the problems I have had with my Dunkirk oil fired burner were due to installation issues, mainly poor solder joints, poor compression fittings to oil tank, etc. Then, add clueless technicians over the years and inevitably their incompetence will cause issues later on. So, the boiler is fine. Make damn sure you get a quality install and find competent technicians who will fix the problems they find! 14 years old, reliable as hell if the annual tune up is done properly. One board and one sticky 79 cent electromagnetic switch. Use a boiler mate. Hot water forever and no leaks!


Date created: 2010-07-16 Name: Ellen K

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"You get what you pay for"
Our Dunkirk 3ew is less than 10 years old and developed a leak between the tankless flange and the casting. Our oil burner man (who is not the person who installed the boiler) never liked the boiler and said that it was risky to try to repair the unit and we might as well get a new boiler.


Date created: 2010-03-29 Name: John T.Carroll Plumbing & Heating
Years owned: 3

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"dunkirk boiler wiith 3"
Very satisfied. I installed this oil fired myself.


Date created: 2010-03-28 Name: Brad McDonald
Years owned: 10

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"well dunkirk boilers falled to start again turn off breaker let sit one minute it starts i hope pipes are not frozen tec repla"
Tech says it's a good boiler. I think that is bs. I wish I have gotten a forced air because it failed to start again. I hope pipes did not freeze . This is the third time.


Date created: 2010-02-07 Name: N. Ryan
Years owned: 5

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"This is important"
Replaced an old and reliable boiler for a small apartment building with a Dunkirk 90 200,000 btu boiler. I have had to replace 2 circuit boards within approximately 1 year of each other, the draft inducer and the ignitor twice. Something is terribly wrong with this picture. I am interested in other owners problems.


Date created: 2010-01-31 Name: brad mc donald
Years owned: 9

Satisfaction Rating:

2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"dunkirk boiler stops working at cold temps"
Replaced ignitor pipes. Almost broke, one zone thermostats does not work.


Date created: 2010-01-14 Name: R. Schreiner
Years owned: 1

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Horrible"
Problems from day one, blower noisy, vacuum lines left open from factory, condensate line clogged from metal shavings, metal shavings on burner caused bad ignition by shorting spark from ignitor. Bad fitting on return which leaked. Tappings plugged from factory are starting to leak, main electronic board going bad keeps shutting off with 05 error code. And this is all within 4 months. Haven't seen any savings. The 95% is rated for radiant heat and temps of 120. When you have baseboard heat, you need 190 then the ratings drop into the 80'S. Any savings you do get will most likely be lost in repair bills. Customer service from sales rep was bad, supply house didn't have parts. Stay with a basic boiler.


Date created: 2009-12-16 Name: Ken Quon
Years owned: 4

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Q90-150 Dunkirk leaking water"
Can't believe it! I thought my Lennox Complete heat was useless but it lasted 7 years and now the Dunkirk was the replacement and it has failed after just 4 years. Same boat, in regards to Dunkirk. They will cover the new heat exchanger but will not cover labor costs which has been estimated at $1500+. Why won't they just give us the money so we can upgrade to something new instead of paying a ton of money to change out the leaky heat exchanger. These things should last more than 4 years!

<< Previous1234Next >>

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to FurnaceCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of FurnaceCompare.com.

Copyright 2002 - 2014 furnacecompare.com