home
We speak HVAC so you don't have to
CONNECT with us!

our tools and detailed reports
can help you choose the best
furnace, boiler, heat pump or
central air conditioner.

Consumer Reviews of Rheem central air conditioners

Find Local Contractors

1. I need a new:

2. My zip code is:

Popularity:
#19  of 56 brands of central air conditioners

30% of customers recommend
3 of 5 stars 187 reviews

  • Very Satisfied
    54
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    3
  • Neutral
    8
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    8
  • Very Unsatisfied
    114

Read more about Rheem central air conditioners

Read reviews of other Air Conditioner brands

Write a review

Reviews by Series

Current Series
Discontinued Series
<< Previous1234567891011121314151617Next >>

Date created: 2010-10-22 Name: s kirk
Location: Terrebonne, Or

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"piece of junk"
Just recieved a bill for labor to replace the compressor in a Rheem heat pump. The unit is about 1 1/2 years old. and so far the equlizer tube had broken twice, the txv valve has had to be replaced, and the compressor has been replaced. In a year and a half the unit has yet to work corectly for three straight months.



Date created: 2010-10-18 Name: FlordiaMan
Location: Boca Raton

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"17 years old and still works"
I have a 1993 Rheem Classic xii - 17 years and it still works great but is starting to fall apart. It has had minimal repairs.


Date created: 2010-10-13 Name: M Fesser
Location: West Palm Beach, Fl

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"So far so good"
Purchased a Rheem 3 ton system with 16 seer rating in order to qualify for tax credit and am surprised how much it reduced electric bills so far. First months bill for July was over 40% less than June bill and July bill from 2009.August bill just under 45% less than August of 2009. I had purchased yearly maintainance contract for 10 year old Janitrol unit which was the unit installed in new construction 1999. I tried to extend the life of this unit as long as possible, but freon leaks and deterioration of coil made it unreliable and unit struggled to keep house cool in the hottest months of South Florida heat. Rheem outdoor unit is so quiet, the neighbors units drown out the sound of my unit. I am loving the savings and the Rheem unit......so far.


Date created: 2010-10-12 Name: Ken W
Location: Palm City, Florida

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"DO YOUR DUE DILIGANCE!"
I spent 3 days studying AC. 1. Very few AC installers know how to install properly, and poorly installed units will cause problems. 2. Almost none of the companies know how to properly size a unit for your house. Read Air Conditioner Contractors of America studies - 53% get too big a unit and BIGGER IS NOT BETTER! (a too big unit cycles too often, does not properly remove humidity, causes problems). The 500 sq ft = 1 ton is way too simple. 3. All the name brands are OK if installed properly. Look for a knowledgeable installer and repairer, and good warranty. My 11 year old Rheem works just fine, but I will replace to get the tax credit.


Date created: 2010-10-11 Name: Jose
Location: Miami, FL

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Rheem customer"
We have that AC since we bought the house, 9 years ago. We are very satisfied and never had a complain. I paid somebody to clean it once and it wasn't too dirty. I'm going to exchange it for a newer one because we made some addition to the house and need a bigger one.


Date created: 2010-10-06 Name: Mike B
Location: RI

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"2.5 ton w / larger blower unit"
Had a difficult custom job done on a my Cape home. Worked out extremely well. The Central Unit covers the 1900 square ft main house (We have an 2 story addition 900 sq ft that has a seperate ductless system). We basically got a blower designed for 3-4 ton units and dropped 9 supplies over 3 floors to achieve it. Even on the 103 degree day, the house stayed at 75 degrees. Basically, unless the unit actually breaks or isnt working, most problems are the result of poor design and installation. Not saying Rheem is better than other units, just that the units themselves are probably not the issue for most of the people here.


Date created: 2010-09-29 Name: C. Pollard
Location: Winfield, Alabama

Satisfaction Rating:

3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"My ac"
My rheem ac has a hard time of keeping up in our long hot Alabama summers. I have to set it low in the mornings to get the house cool, if not it has a hard time of keeping up in the afternoon hours.


Date created: 2010-09-22 Name: tumolt
Location: Florida

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"GARBAGE"
My 2 1/2 ton new central air conditioning system was a little over 1 year old and out of full warrantee when the computer control and air handler fan motor went out. The parts were free but the labor was $300. My A/C repairman told me that Rheem and other companies buy the same junk for their AC systems. Let the buyer beware. Rheem and other companies that buy the same components will cost you money way before the money you supposedly save on a new high effieciency A/C system. The problem is far reaching so do your homework and asked AC repairmen what systems the past 3 years hold up and rarely require repairs. Don't ask a salesman. Get at least 10 opinions and make sure they are on newer units. Some manufacturers are cheapening up on quality components. Get a contractor that will give you at least a 5 year warrantee on parts and labor at no additional cost and you'll save not only on electric but repairs.


Date created: 2010-09-18 Name: Sarah Kimmel
Location: Lehi, UT

Satisfaction Rating:

2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"Quiet 80"
Our AC is very loud, and will continue running after it has reached it's set temp. It also trips our breaker all the time.


Date created: 2010-09-09 Name: Juli
Location: Columbus Ga

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Not happy with Ac unit"
this is r 3rd rheem unit we have had the first on the home we bought 8 yrs ago then replaced it when we remodled r house a yr went by and the compersser went in it thank god it was under warenty, then the thinhg froze up and found out we had to have freon put in, we sold that home just bought this one almost 4 months ago had a home inspection said nothing was wrong withe the ac, now 3 days ago the house just was not cooling down went into the attic today and found ice on the unit , went to the outside unit and ice was there as well. so now hvae the house all opened up no ac and I live in GA. And it's really hot and now I dont know if the ac guy is going to call me back or not, and need be I will never ever have another rheem unit again.

<< Previous1234567891011121314151617Next >>

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to FurnaceCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of FurnaceCompare.com.

Copyright 2002 - 2014 furnacecompare.com