home
We speak HVAC so you don't have to
CONNECT with us!

our tools and detailed reports
can help you choose the best
furnace, boiler, heat pump or
central air conditioner.

Consumer Reviews of Rheem central air conditioners

Popularity:
#19  of 56 brands of central air conditioners

30% of customers recommend
3 of 5 stars 191 reviews

  • Very Satisfied
    55
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    3
  • Neutral
    8
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    8
  • Very Unsatisfied
    117

Read more about Rheem central air conditioners

Read reviews of other Air Conditioner brands

Write a review

Reviews by Series

Current Series
Discontinued Series
<< Previous1234567891011121314151617Next >>

Date created: 2013-09-10 Name: Matt Hatfield
Location: huntsville, al

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Do Not Buy a Rheem"
Do not buy a Rheem. Had split unit installed 3 years ago. Have already spent over $5000 in repairs. Distributor gave me a new unit 'cause the first one was bad. Now, having all the same expensive problems with new unit. Repairman telling me it's a bad unit as well. Talked to Rheem, they don't care and won't do anything to fix it. Highly recommend never purchasing one and tell anyone thinking about it to get a different brand.



Date created: 2013-09-02 Name: Paul H

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Cools Great"
We installed a Value series 13 seer Rheem AC to supplement our wonderful top of the line heat pump in our main living area. The heat pump could not keep up on 90+ degree days. With the central air conditioner, the house is cold and comfortable even on the hottest of days.


Date created: 2013-08-29 Name: Audrey Skiba
Location: Tulsa OK.

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Leaking Coils"
Moved into a brand new house with a Rheem air conditioner and after one season, coils are leaking. Vickery Heat and Air replaced it but charged me $150.00 to install. I think Rheem should pay them, it was their problem. Had a York for 20 years with only 3 service calls.


Date created: 2013-07-12 Name: S.Jenny
Location: Bakersfield Ca.

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"The Best Ever"
I'm a girl. I'm not gonna jump up and down and tell you how great this is. Check all the major sites that review central A/C and the evidence is there. Great price, quality, and support. Rheem is the best choice. Trane is too expensive. Carrier is nice. It's solid and works in the hottest weather. Very quiet. I'm 72 and have had several others. Sorry guys, girls are smart too. You can't show me one brand that has all positive reviews.


Date created: 2013-07-11 Name: L. Marks
Location: Brownsville, Texas

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Should've Done My Research First!!"
Had two Rheem units installed (2 tons) by Ideal A/C in Feb. 2011 and have had A/C guy come once cause it was not cooling right. He said there was no problem, it was too hot and humid outside!!! Later came back 1 unit had completely no freon. One month later, other unit was not working, had to replace dryer and pay labor fees. One month later again came for same unit cause A/C was not cooling at all. He said too much voltage caused breaker to go off cuz freon lines were not working right, so now we have to replace TVX?? I think it's a valve?? What problems!!! Regret getting these units!!


Date created: 2013-07-09 Name: danny A
Location: texas

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Don't Buy"
Unit 15PJL/RHLL purchased unit 10-28-2010. Had to replace coil 7-25-12. Today, 7-09-13 we are told the compressor is bad and needs to be replaced. This unit was purchased new at a cost of over $6,500 and it is junk.


Date created: 2013-07-07 Name: M. Bobrowski
Location: Rhode Island

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Do NOT Buy a Rheem!!"
I live in New England and had a Rheem central air conditioning system installed less than 2 years ago. So far it has not made it through even one cooling season without problems. The blower motor had to be replaced half way onto the first cooling season. Now, on 4th of July weekend the motor died again and of course, it is very hot and humid. Even when the system is working, it does not really work on humid days. Do not buy a Rheem!!


Date created: 2013-07-01 Name: L. Hanson
Location: Santa Clarity, Ca

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Unit Does Not Work. RHEEM Expects Customer to Pay"
This unit was purchased in November 2012. It arrived with no coolant but installer was able to fill it and get it working for a test. As soon as hot weather set in, though, and it actually had to run, it stopped cooling after a couple of days. Contractor repaired it again, but the same thing happened. Now we're going through the heat wave with no air conditioning. Rheem will send replacement parts (a week later) but will not pay any labor or even shipping. This warranty is bogus as the unit never worked and Rheem is not assuming the responsibility. Would strongly recommend never going with Rheem.


Date created: 2013-06-11 Name: M Perino
Location: Illinois

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Ran Great for 27 Years"
I never had to do anything to this unit until it finally quit this year. Put in, in 1985 and literally never had to do anything except keep it clean.


Date created: 2013-05-31 Name: DAN CICONE
Location: marylaND

Satisfaction Rating:

3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"3 Ton Unit"
Lasted me 13 years so far, leaks some freon 22. Looking to buy a Trane going with the warranty like 100000 mile cars warranty. I did have one problem with the installer, it's a Rheem. It says so in the condenser, big letters but the evaporator wasn't a Rheem, and the pan rusted till the furnace was well rusted. If someone says their putting a brand name in, better be sure it's not a cheap shit evaporator he's sticking in there. They can only fool me once cheap ass installer.

<< Previous1234567891011121314151617Next >>

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to FurnaceCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of FurnaceCompare.com.

Copyright 2002 - 2014 furnacecompare.com