home
We speak HVAC so you don't have to
CONNECT with us!

our tools and detailed reports
can help you choose the best
furnace, boiler, heat pump or
central air conditioner.

Consumer Reviews of Rheem central air conditioners

Popularity:
#22  of 56 brands of central air conditioners

29% of customers recommend
3 of 5 stars 196 reviews

  • Very Satisfied
    55
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    3
  • Neutral
    8
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    8
  • Very Unsatisfied
    122

Read more about Rheem central air conditioners

Read reviews of other Air Conditioner brands

Write a review

Reviews by Series

Current Series
Discontinued Series
<< Previous1234567891011121314151617Next >>

Date created: 2010-06-05 Name: Bryan Menell
Years owned: 1

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Not a good brand"
Our house and a/c unit are brand new, and I've already spent tons of money fixing this Rheem. Some parts are under warranty, but that doesn't cover the labor. I've had 10 year old Carrier units that never had a problem. If I have a choice, I will make sure I never deal with a Rheem again. I don't understand the reviewers here that say their unit is great, but it leaks 3 lbs of coolant per year. They are replacing the unit. Yes, they mark their review "very satisfied." What??



Date created: 2010-06-04 Name: M. Conroy
Years owned: 12

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"4 ton, 14 SEER"
Recently had to be recharged. Just 2 inexpensive repairs in the previous 12 years, 1 was under warranty. The heat recovery for domestic hw works well. I shut off the water heater in the summer.


Date created: 2010-06-01 Name: Dave
Years owned: 1

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Cool in the Cape"
We bought a 1 yr old pool home several years ago, and never gave much thought to the central air conditioner, until summer hit. Turns out that the basic, builder model 2.5 ton Tempstar was just too small for our 1800+ sq ft 4 br home. It would run constantly when the temps outside exceeded 84 degrees, and on hot days, could never cool the house below 78-79 degrees even though the compressor was running 10-12 hrs a day non stop. In the hottest part of the afternoons, you could even expect to see the temp in the house increase a couple degrees eventhough the air never turned off. Of course, this resulted in huge electric bills, so we usually just opted to cool the house with fans in the windows except for the very hottest days. Last year, we finally saved enough money to install a new air conditioner, and went with a local Rheem dealer because of their budget friendly pricing and excellent warranty. The installers were very knowledgeable and helpful and helped us select a Rheem 15.5 seer 3.5 ton system that met our homes needs and our budget, and included some ductwork upgrades to handle the larger unit. The new unit cools our home effortlessly even on the hottest days, no matter what the thermostat setting, and runs just enough to maintain a consistent temperature throughout the house. It is energy efficient, we no longer fear opening the electric bill if we have been using the air a lot. It is also surprisingly quiet. Whereas the old unit sounded like a small lawn mower running from outside the house, if you are more than 20 feet away from this one, you actually have to stop and listen to tell if it is running, despite the fact that it is nearly twice the physical size of the old one. All in all our experience with Rheem has been better than expected. Our new central air conditioner has surpassed our expectations, and proven that you can still get value and efficiency at a budget price. I guess time will tell if the unit will be as good a performer through the years as it is now, but our Rheem dealer offers a 10 year warranty that covers all parts including compressor, air handler, and fan motors, and has been in business in our town for nearly 20 years with an excellent reputation, so we have peace of mind. Dave


Date created: 2010-05-31 Name: Lloyd Rhodus
Years owned: 7

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Lloyd Rhodus"
Was told by 3 different a/c companies and one being my good friend, that we needed a new unit. Called Rheem and all they said was it was out of 6 year warranty. The unit is 7 years old....5200.00 for a new unit. We have upstairs and downstairs units. They run constantly and have had problems with both sine we bought the house new 7 years ago. Scared to death the other unit is going out. Don't exactly have 11,000 laying around extra for 7 year old units. My hole street is Rheem....I could give you 20 or so names to tell you about Rheem...Junk.


Date created: 2010-05-26 Name: D. Barnes
Years owned: 3

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Worthless warranty"
Our 3 year old 4 ton unit, top of their line, quit blowing cold air. Seems the coil has a leak, which was caused by a pressure valve gone bad. This had a 10 year warranty, yet it will cost $700 to fix. That is if they had a coil to replace it. They are currently out of stock and say it should be available mid June. Don't know if that's when it will be made, in the warehouse, at the dc, or in the field. That's right, the warranty is limited to almost nothing, and they can't even supply parts. Do yourself a favor and look elsewhere.


Date created: 2010-05-13 Name: Bob Wilson
Years owned: 4

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Excellent performance"
I purchased a 2 1/2 ton Rheem air conditioner 4 years ago and I have never had any issues --- even on the hottest days, it works great. I'm not too sure why some others have had some issues, unless maybe it is contractors selling different brands giving the negative reviews that are trying to hurt their competition, but I have not had a single problem and I am very happy with my unit.


Date created: 2010-05-11 Name: Jason
Years owned: 28

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Time for a new Rheem"
We bought our house 5 years ago. It had a Rheem a/c unit installed in 1982. The unit works flawless as long as it has the correct amount of freon. It has a slow leak that started about 3 years ago. Our service guy said once it got over a pound a year we'd need to replace it. Well last summer it took 3 pounds. So we are replacing it before it gets too hot this year. I'd have to say that after reading these reviews it seems most of bad ones are due to leaks. Or possibly a bad installation. If you don't maintain your unit or have the proper amount of freon it will run like crap, maybe even burn up. I've learned to take every internet review with a grain of salt. There will always be good and bad reviews. People that have bad experiences are more likely to make sure their complaint is heard. People that have a good one won't think twice and just go on living. Well that's my 2 cents. We're going to buy a Rheem....


Date created: 2010-05-04 Name: Craig Johnson
Years owned: 3

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Very reliable"
I have a 13aj that I bought 3 years ago in a new subdivision and I couldn't be happier. Never an issue and never a problem, even while 3 of my neighbors who have Goodman, Carrier and Lennox have had lots of problems. Based on my experience, I would definitely recommend Rheem. It's like the Energizer Bunny, it just keeps going and going and going.


Date created: 2010-05-01 Name: Connie Bellerive
Location: Florida

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"rheem always broken"
I purchased a new Rheem air conditioning system last August. I live in Florida and our summers are very hot so I need a unit that cools well. This Rheem has broken down every few weeks and I have spent hot days and nights waiting for the technician. The first time it broke, it was three weeks old. I will never recommend Rheem to anyone. It is junk.


Date created: 2010-01-05 Name: Diaen Piazza
Years owned: 1

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Rheem A/C unit"
Purchased in June 2009. Had technician out 2 or 3 times for corrections. It is January now & the heat blows out cool not hot air. Technician will not be out for a few days cause he's too backed up with service calls. Will never buy another Rheem.

<< Previous1234567891011121314151617Next >>

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to FurnaceCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of FurnaceCompare.com.

Copyright 2002 - 2014 furnacecompare.com