home
We speak HVAC so you don't have to
CONNECT with us!

our tools and detailed reports
can help you choose the best
furnace, boiler, heat pump or
central air conditioner.

Consumer Reviews of Heil central air conditioners

Popularity:
#39  of 56 brands of central air conditioners

24% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 94 reviews

  • Very Satisfied
    23
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    0
  • Neutral
    4
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    4
  • Very Unsatisfied
    63

Read more about Heil central air conditioners

Read reviews of other Air Conditioner brands

Write a review

<< Previous12345678910Next >>

Date created: 2012-04-20 Name: R. Koli
Location: P. Ridge, NY

Satisfaction Rating:

3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"Their Warranty STINKS"
I was considering Heil Products. Their warranty is void once I sell my house. That is a big negative when potential buyers find no warranty coverage. Their website discourages contact by potential users of their products. They refer to their dealers or contractors. I usually find manufacturers of products know more about their own products than any of their dealers or contractors. Try calling them direct. I would not consider HEIL for their weak warranty and the fact they avoid contact with homeowners, the final users of their products.



Date created: 2012-04-18 Name: D. Moritz
Location: Overland Park, Ks
Years owned: 4

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Where's the recall on this peice of junk?!!"
Had the a/c unit less than 5 years and stopped cooling. Freon leak from inside coil says the company that installed. He also said this is a very common problem. Parts covered but not labor. Less than 5 years-- ridiculous!


Date created: 2011-12-07 Name: L. Davy
Location: Cadillac, MI
Years owned: 5

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Owner"
The first unit was junk, replace under warranty. The second unit is also junk. Will be replaced this spring.


Date created: 2011-08-25 Name: Gregory Sowder
Location: Summerville, South Carolina

Satisfaction Rating:

3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"READ THIS BEFORE YOU WRITE A REVIEW!"
To the Consumers: It is really funny to read the great reports to the bad reports on Heil equipment. One thing that every bad or good report is missing is who really is at fault and who deserves the credit. With the manufacturing not just Heil but all brands of equipment something the consumer does not know is the government stepped in 2010 and said enough is enough all manufacturers now have to show, prove and manufacture higher more efficient units. It is the whole going green everyone is doing it and it is now mandatory. The 13 seer units are really the 14 seer and the 14 seer are now the 15 seer. Since this has occurred several of these brands have merged with their parts like Carrier, Payne, Bryant, Heil and icp Indoor Comfort Products. American Standard with Trane, York with Coleman and so on and so on. They all use the same parts manufacturers. The same contractors, the same Copland compressors, relay and motors the same distribution centers for the copper to the aluminum coils. These suppliers are globe wide. I can show you the same parts used in a Bryant system that is also used in a Heil etc. Do not be fooled by the true salesman. He might have signed a contract with that brand to be strictly a dealer and will at all cost to sell you on just that brand. The question as a customer is to ask: who is telling you the truth? What Brand is better than the next? In almost every case when properly reviewed 85% of the issues or failure to a product or specific brand is not the equipment’s fault but if traced back correctly you will find it was done by who installed the equipment, the labor or technician or that company or contractor? Were they licensed? How did they handle themselves? Were they professional? Did they cut corners to save a buck? Did they install it properly? Always look for their reviews. The main cause of inside coils or outside condenser fan motors or compressors failures is ductwork. The biggest thing to know is it is called “air “Conditioning. Without correct design of the returns and supply’s for that system the parts are sure to fail. Without proper air flow from day one nothing else will be truly correct in the overall functions or operations of that system. It may take several years for it to show or it will show right away in which an hvac contractor can always blame it on the equipment without you knowing their mistake. Remember this is key, without the proper install of that equipment and air duct design the compressor, motors and smaller parts will over work, over amp and fail. Without proper air flow across the evaporator they will get to cold and tend to sweat and cause rusting and eventually start to cause refrigerant leaks. So the question would be was the ductwork to that equipment adequate from day one? Was the unit properly sized for the home? Was it too small or too big? Was it a mismatch (note) a 2 ton to a 2 ton does not make it a match? The equipment must have proper coil sizing and the correct metering device in one part to match and be installed. Always remember to look beyond what might be told to you as a truth and look at who’s to gain or who’s to lose. (Law 5)So much depends on reputation; guard it with your life, without it you are nothing. With the new government standards being strictly enforced and quality control now mandatory. The only remaining 15% of failure is in shipping which again would lean more to Fedex, UPS or the shipping companies where equipment could have been mishandle, dropped , crushed or damaged. So before you question or report and issues look deeper and you may find out something you did not want to know or believe to ever be the truth. Greg Sowder CEO, Air Concept Solutions, LLC. www.airconceptsllc.com


Date created: 2011-08-17 Name: B. Troodler
Location: New Rochelle,NY
Years owned: 2

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Stay Away nothing but Junk"
Since we first got it, nothing but problems. Repair Technician kept putting in freon for 2 years. Called a new technician and it turns out compressor coil on outside was defective and on inside the coil was also leaking. Heil has a no hassle warranty for year---but the Heil technician could not find the real problem and Heil will not honor the no hassle warranty since it is not in the first year. Got original dealer from Heil website and they say they are independent. Nothing to do with Heil. Would not recommend to anyone a very dissatisfying experience.


Date created: 2011-08-16 Name: Rich
Location: Westville, IN
Years owned: 19

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"My unit has finally given up the ghost!"
My unit has finally given up the ghost! Considering it's age and having to run constantly 8 or more hours on sunny days between May & October, I couldn't be happier. I usually had it serviced & cleaned every other summer. It lost only a few #'s of freon during that time. But it was especially expensive to operate this summer because the compressor has been slowly burning out dealing with heat and humidity of this 33% above average summer. My main complaint was it was a noisy machine!


Date created: 2011-08-03 Name: PAC
Location: Western Pennsylvania
Years owned: 22

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Our 30+ year old Heil has finally given out"
Our Heil 3.5 ton air conditioner has finally died. When we bought the house the ac unit was already 10 years old and needed a new compressor. We decided to replace the compressor. Other than some minor repairs, it has performed well for the last 22 years. A 32 year life span is pretty amazing for a central air conditioner! That, and a competent HVAC serviceman makes all the difference. I just ordered another Heil from my competent HVAC man.


Date created: 2011-08-01 Name: Peggy Young
Location: Indianapolis
Years owned: 1

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"VERY HAPPY!"
Is very quiet and had great luck for two summers. Irish Air did the installation and have been very happy. This Heil unit is the second one we have had over 25 years. Neighbor has been thru two Tranes and a Rheem. He didn't listen....LOL


Date created: 2011-07-25 Name: Beth
Years owned: 6

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Did not last"
Bought this "top of the line" unit less than 6 years ago. It broke in 100 degree weather and we have to replace. It was fine until then but it is ridiculous that it only lasted 6 years.


Date created: 2011-06-29 Name: Renee Harber
Location: Alamo, TN
Years owned: 8

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Heil AC junk. Unit from Hell not heil"
My unit has been nothing but a piece of junk since the very first day I turned it on. Everytime there is a seasonal change I have to call someone out to fix it because it doesn't work. I am now going to have to replace the air compressor for the second time in 8 years. Forget that. I am junking it and going to a TRANE. Nothing runs like a TRANE. DO NOT BUY THEIR CRAP. You also can't get warrenty parts replaced easily.

<< Previous12345678910Next >>

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to FurnaceCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of FurnaceCompare.com.

Copyright 2002 - 2014 furnacecompare.com