home
We speak HVAC so you don't have to
CONNECT with us!

our tools and detailed reports
can help you choose the best
furnace, boiler, heat pump or
central air conditioner.

Consumer Reviews of CARRIER central air conditioners

Popularity:
#38  of 56 brands of central air conditioners

27% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 172 reviews

  • Very Satisfied
    40
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    7
  • Neutral
    4
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    7
  • Very Unsatisfied
    114

Read more about CARRIER central air conditioners

Read reviews of other Air Conditioner brands

Write a review

Reviews by Series

Current Series
<< Previous1234567891011121314151617Next >>

Date created: 2009-06-24 Name: radiomaven
Years owned: 3

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"48GP 13 SEER packaged unit"
Bought this thing a few years ago to replace an older 8 seer r22 unit. Ever since day one, the unit did not cool the house as well as the old unit did. I complained to the installing dealer and they said "it's normal" After service calls,with no results, I got one servicer to correctly diagnose an obstruction in the drier, causing high head pressure and high compressor operating temperature. Tried to get Carrier to cover the unit under warranty (since the unit was defective from the factory)..FORGET IT..Carrier does not give a damn about it's customers. You have to sue these people to get them to do what they are supposed to do.. That's what I'm in the process of doing now..



Date created: 2009-06-21 Name: Ms. Frustrated
Years owned: 2

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Not worth your money."
I purchased a brand new home with a Carrier central air unit in 2007. By the summer 2008 the unit failed to operate right after my 1 year labor warranty expired. First it stoped blowing cold or hot air. Then the motor went bad along with the control boards. Parts not available and Carrier is no help Costing me about $500 to fix problems on a unit that's just 2 years old.


Date created: 2009-06-20 Name: Liz M.
Years owned: 3

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"1 star"
We are just not happy with our Carrie a/C. Too many issues and still does not work well.


Date created: 2009-06-04 Name: G. Hazelbrook
Years owned: 5

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Leaks freon and breaks down constantly"
Every year we have to add freon because of leaks in the coil and in five years we've had four repairs for defective parts (fan,contractor, capacitor and vavle). We have spent almost as much in repairs as we did to have this piece of junk put in! Very unhappy!


Date created: 2009-05-24 Name: Chuck
Years owned: 2

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Very Dependable"
Parents own a 2-year old luxury townhome with dual-zone central a/C. The house has two 13 seer builder-grade air-conditioners and two gas furnaces, which work awesome! The furnaces are a little loud, but the air-conditioners are very quiet. Wouldn't hesitate to buy another Carrier product.


Date created: 2009-05-07 Name: ecwingen
Years owned: 1

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"LOUDER THAN OLD UNIT!"
Just had a 3 ton 12/14 seer package unit installed; is energystar model for the tax credit. It cools the house ok, but it is louder than the 20 year old Amana it replaced! The compressor makes a horrible buzzing sound that we can hear throughout the house. It makes your teeth vibrate and produces a headache in a matter of minutes. We were told the unit would be no louder than a new refrigerator, which was a big lie. The neighbors have complained already; they never complained about the sound of the old unit.


Date created: 2009-02-21 Name: Unhappy in North Florida
Location: North Florida
Years owned: 1

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Nightmare in North Florida"
Carrier Infinity - Just don't do it. Replaced 2 units with 2 Carrier Infinity ..... only one of the old units was broken. Assured our power bills would go down 50% .... and they WENT UP over 33% in KW usage and more in $$$. Perhaps I'll contact the parent company, United Technologies. I suspect the parent company does NOT have a clue how many DISSATISFIED and DISGUSTED customers they have. What a way to ruin a Brand Name like Carrier. Our service provider stalled and stalled on getting an appointment with the Carrier Rep - still hasn't happened yet, the appointment was postponed. With a BAD installation, you might as throw your money down a rat hole. Oh, yeah, Carrier, the manufacturer, doesn't really stand behind their product. They pass you off to the Carrier Independent DISTRIBUTOR. That's like GM or Ford ignoring their warranty obligations and you having to rely on your local dealership to HONOR the warranty. Oh, yeah, the unit is VERY LOUD.


Date created: 2008-12-30 Name: Art
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Years owned: 13

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"Package Unit 10 Seer"
After 13 years, finally replaced my two 10 seer Carrier package units which were builder installed in 1995. Other than replacing the control board for $550 on downstairs unit in 2007, and the upstairs unit quit heating in Dec 2008, never really had any major problems. I could have replaced the control board on the upstairs unit, but with wear and tear in the desert heat over time resulting in broken frames on the units and bearings starting to go, decided to upgrade. Switched to American Standard 14 seer, received lifetime maintenance checks, and 10 year warranty on parts and labor. Why switch? Carrier is not the easiest to fix, it took three different contractors before we found one who was lucky enough and skilled enough to figure out the control board was at fault. American Standards are a lot easier to diagnose and we couldn't turn the deal down, saved a lot compared to what new Carriers would cost these days.


Date created: 2008-12-11 Name: B. Swivel
Location: San Antonio, TX
Years owned: 26

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Condo owner"
Have a small 1 1/2 ton A/C unit for a 900sqft condo in S. Texas. In my condo project this builders quality unit still has aprox 60% of the original units operating since the project was built in 1982. Mine has just quit after 26 years, with me being the sole owner/occupier of the home for that period. I'm surprised to find Carrier not highly recommended while looking for a replacement....will explore all options.


Date created: 2008-09-23 Name: J. JACKMAN
Location: Tucson, AZ
Years owned: 9

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"CARRIER A/C"
We paid extra when our house was built to upgrade to a higher seer than was standard with the house. We have been very satisfied with the unit. other than service calls for a seasonal check we have had no problems. the other homes in the area who did not upgrade are not as satisfied as their units have to work harder to keep the house cool. as a result, their air conditioning bills are twice what mine are. sometimes folks are unhappy for reasons that are really their own fault by not doing the research to actually see what a/c is appropriate for their square footage.

<< Previous1234567891011121314151617Next >>

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to FurnaceCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of FurnaceCompare.com.

Copyright 2002 - 2014 furnacecompare.com