home
We speak HVAC so you don't have to
CONNECT with us!

our tools and detailed reports
can help you choose the best
furnace, boiler, heat pump or
central air conditioner.

Consumer Reviews of CARRIER central air conditioners

Popularity:
#40  of 56 brands of central air conditioners

26% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 185 reviews

  • Very Satisfied
    42
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    7
  • Neutral
    5
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    8
  • Very Unsatisfied
    123

Read more about CARRIER central air conditioners

Read reviews of other Air Conditioner brands

Write a review

Reviews by Series

Current Series
123456789101112131415161718Next >>

Date created: 2014-10-16 Name: jerry mclemore
Location: Elkhart, TX

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"After 5 years, we have had no trouble wth our unit"
After 5 years, we have had no trouble with our unit. It has always done a great job.



Date created: 2014-09-26 Name: A. Rumptz
Location: Canton, MI

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Terrible product & customer service"
After my previous Lennox ac unit died with 30-years of trouble-free service, I replaced it with this Carrier in 2010. 4 years later, the coil is bad, and the original quiet operation is gone. The installer will replace the coil under warranty, but wants to charge $300 for the labor + refrigerant. They no longer sell Carrier because of problems like this. I called Carrier customer service to ask if they were interested in making this right (i.e., cover the labor cost, or send someone out themselves to fix it). Both the customer relations associate and his supervisor (with a hang up in between) couldn't have cared less. Save yourself the trouble and buy something else.


Date created: 2014-09-25 Name: Chris
Location: Ohio

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Good A/C"
Our 11-year-old Carrier has been very reliable. In its life, only had to replace one capacitor ($75). Other than that, the unit has been bulletproof. It's hard to evaluate HVAC systems, due to most people only leaving reviews if they had problems. I figured I'd try to balance out the negatives with my positive feedback.


Date created: 2014-09-18 Name: Becky

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Very disappointed in company and product"
We have had nothing but problems with this system. Have had it 3 years and bought it new. When we change it from heat to cool for the season change, it just runs and runs but wont blow cold air. We have contacted the company and asked them to replace it several times. They have made us jump through hoops, and yet we still have the same system that runs for hours and does not cool our house! The "fix" they tell them to do only fixes it temporarily, and it gets really hot in the mean time. Blah.


Date created: 2014-08-18 Name: Kimberly Britschge
Location: Hamilton, NJ

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Poor Product and Service"
Horrible! Do not use Iceman company or purchase Carrier ac Unit. Do not stand by product or warranty. Unit less than 9 years old and have been told leaks 3 different times, replace evaporator and coil 3 times (every 2 years) and none is covered under warranty and fix at a cost of up to $6000.00. Each time got second opinion and all 3 times Iceman was wrong but can't have anyone but a Carrier Dealer work on unit and have to use Iceman because that is who my extended warranty contract is with. Need a new thermostat and can't get one because have to use Iceman who can't diagnose the correct problem because they only diagnose problems no covered under warranty. Carrier won't intervene, won't help to get new thermostat because have to get from a Carrier Dealer. Carrier says can call another Carrier Dealer to see if they will help you but they don't have to because contract is with Iceman and should really deal with them. Wish I had never every used Iceman or purchased a Carrier ac Unit. Have a dual system and other system is a York and have never had one problem with that. Stay away from Iceman and Carrier.


Date created: 2014-08-07 Name: Tina
Location: Louisville LY

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Waste of money!"
We purchased our A/c and furnace combined unit in December of 2012. It was installed on 19th December 2012 and by this August (6th August 2104) the condenser failed and we had no air. A fuse also blew. The unit is a little over 19mths old! Our previous combined unit which was 45 yrs old when we moved into our home did not even start to go wrong until it was 48 yrs old! It fina;lly failed altogether at the age of 51 yrs! Do not get this model; if any made by "Carrier". The technician that came out to replace the compressor and fuse told me that "Carrier" are infamous for manufacturing faultyu compressors and that it drives him crazy. It was not surprised when he found ouyt the cause of the problem., Stay away from "carrier" at all costs. They will on;y cost you more money in the long run....or even the short run, in our case. They are useless!


Date created: 2014-07-28 Name: john raggi
Location: New Jersey

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Needed Puron after 1st year"
5 ton unit. Condenser is approximately 4 years old. Added 6 pounds of Puron in May 2014 and now on July 27th not functioning. If somebody wants to start a class action suit, I am in. Pissed in Green Brook


Date created: 2014-07-26 Name: Loren Armour
Location: Welington, FL

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Carrier Performance series installed by Sansone"
Worst ever!!!! Sansone took out my Trane that was not cooling quickly after 10 years and replaced it with a $7,000 tag for indoor fv4cn(b,f)005l and outdoor 24acb736a**31 new . Takes 5 hours to get from 75 degrees to 70 degrees at night!!!!! WORST MISTAKE EVERY TO TRUST THESE PPL!!!!! NOW THEY TELL ME IT'S NOT DESIGNED FOR TO GO TO 70 THIS TIME OF THE YEAR WTF!!!!!!


Date created: 2014-07-15 Name: Colin McArthur
Location: Franklin, TN

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Garbage Replaced at 6 Years"
Bought a 4 year old home in late 2012 with the main hvac unit being a packaged Carrier 48sd. One year later started making loud noise as (10/13) the interior of the unit was so rusted the small interior fan motor was hitting the plate holding the motor. Plate and motor replaced. $1300 repair. Carrier and my hvac annual contractor refunded $300. Big deal! Yesterday, 7/14/14 the ac went out. Copper tube from compressor leaking. Contractor wanted $1200+ to repair. Decided on a new trane, a brand I have had years of excellent service with in Florida and sc coastal area, two places tough on HVACs. Never another Carrier.


Date created: 2014-06-25 Name: rd
Location: fruita, co.

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"5 year warranty on $7000?"
Brand new home in 2007 with 2 Carrier units installed- 1 upstairs and 1 downstairs. Upstairs one is out and Carrier tells me they only guarantee for 5 years. Homeowners, just so you know. We are retired on a fixed income and now have to face replacing a unit that as far as estimates go anywhere from $6500- to $8500.

123456789101112131415161718Next >>

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to FurnaceCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of FurnaceCompare.com.

Copyright 2002 - 2014 furnacecompare.com